We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, pay extra for the views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
southampton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely location, pay extra for the views”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a conference. Paid a premium for a sea-view, which is worth it, as otherwise you look out over the car-park. Good food, comfy room - had a problem with the shower temperature control, but this was fixed after mentioning it to reception. Room got quite hot, even with the windows open (they don't open very far), so wouldn't like to stay there in mid-summer. Walking distance from the railway station, from where there's a good service back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allatseaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    693
    437
    179
    69
See reviews for
396
1,229
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A lovely one night stay in north Berwick in a lovely hotel, a few minutes walk into the heart of the town but well worth it.

The room was was clean and well appointed, we would have made use of the Leisure facilities such as the gym and sauna also it has an outside spa pool but alas we forgot to pack the necessary clothing and footwear mmmm.

The breakfast was served with a view across the golf course to the sea and it was a lovely offering.

lovely part of the world and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have came to this hotel a few times and every time I have went something has went wrong , my first stay there , there was a pigeon in my room! the second time I went I had to move room 3 times as the first room I was offered was really old fashioned and the carpet in it was the same one when I had been there 20 years ago , the second room I was offered was dark and very dull then I got offered another room and it had the same problem , the facilities are good though , has a good pool and a great spa , the hotel is also in a good location , so overall this hotel has good facilities but not so great rooms ,,,!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Worth the extra for the executive king as we had stunning views from our huge bay-windowed room. Dinner was great and just the right size of portions meant you could manage all 3 courses. Lovely lounge area to sit with fab views again but service could have been a little faster. Our breakfast was good with a buffet selection and hot food cooked to order. First trip to North Berwick and enjoyed this very much with lovely walks into town and along the golf course and beach, even managed a paddle in the sea!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamacaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Good points; amazing location, cannot be faulted, views and walks are breathtaking.
Hotel common areas are very nicely presented, rooms are cosy with nice furnishings and everything worked well.
Breakfast is lush, varied with excellent service.
Requested a sewing kit and was provided with one promptly.
Bad points; room small and no air-con - July and unusually close so window had to stay open: was a bit noisy on the Saturday night.
Asked for a seaview but none available which was a real shame.
Ordered a newspaper for the sat morn but none arrived.
Dinner order quite slow on the Friday night despite not a busy restaurant.
Overall I would definitely return but I'd make sure of a seaview next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with a group of business friends. Room was of a good size with a sea view. Food was of a good standard, although service at breakfast was a bit slow, could have done with a couple of more staff. Overall a very nice hotel with stunning views if you get good weather.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the marine hotel for our wedding anniversary.
Lovely hotel and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We had a spa day included in our stay which was very relaxing and the facilities amazing, the lunch included was also amazing. Thank you for a lovely stay we will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing