We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf Group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golf Group”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our second stay at the Marine. Had a group of 12 golfers. The staff was incredibly accommodating to getting checked in quickly etc. GREAT showers!!! Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Perfect location and very short walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USCGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    689
    434
    176
    68
See reviews for
394
1,222
33
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by the friendliest receptionist who was efficient and extremely helpful. Our room had a great view and was very comfortable Firth of Forth and the Bass Rock right outside our window amazing. We had an offer for two nights which included a sweet treat in our room on arrival which we eventually got the following night and our friendly receptionist arranged for our inclusive dinner on the first night to be switched to our second night as we requested. This is a lovely Hotel but only got Three Stars for the following reasons. Our food on first night took forty minutes to come and although my dish was good my husbands home cooked ham, egg and chips was not. The ham was straight from a packet and would have been sent back had he not been ravenous after such a long wait. Breakfast was superb and the waiting staff charming. Our restaurant meal had an allowance of £30 each which was exceeded by us to the tune of another £60 even though we only had a glass of wine each and a two course meal. Which was of a decent standard but not sufficiently so to reflect the cost. The Hotel is frequented by lots of Golfers from all corners of the world and we therefore decided that the management feel they can charge these prices both in the Bar and Restaurant. Raise your standards and don't overcharge you have a great Hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view room Amazing views and sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Food, drink and accomodation overpriced. Rooms are outdated. Our executive room had great views but was a bit tatty and worn round the edges. I would especially like to thank the lovely waitress Kate in the JP's retaurant who prepared a table at a window for us after we were told they were reserved by a waiter who couldn't be bothered to tidy up and re-lay the table.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room make sure you complain. The first room we were allocated was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWNeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I can only heap praise on the management and staff of this hotel. Everything about this hotel is first class.We stayed for 5 nights in room 320, with a partial view of the golf course and the Firth of Forth..Everything is top notch, from the people on the reception desk, to the lovely people who keep your room clean and tidy, and to the people who serve the food and drinks in the bar and restaurant. You all deserve credit for a job well done.
Thank you.
Chris and Denise Roberts.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisrobbo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a conference. Paid a premium for a sea-view, which is worth it, as otherwise you look out over the car-park. Good food, comfy room - had a problem with the shower temperature control, but this was fixed after mentioning it to reception. Room got quite hot, even with the windows open (they don't open very far), so wouldn't like to stay there in mid-summer. Walking distance from the railway station, from where there's a good service back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allatseaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A lovely one night stay in north Berwick in a lovely hotel, a few minutes walk into the heart of the town but well worth it.

The room was was clean and well appointed, we would have made use of the Leisure facilities such as the gym and sauna also it has an outside spa pool but alas we forgot to pack the necessary clothing and footwear mmmm.

The breakfast was served with a view across the golf course to the sea and it was a lovely offering.

lovely part of the world and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have came to this hotel a few times and every time I have went something has went wrong , my first stay there , there was a pigeon in my room! the second time I went I had to move room 3 times as the first room I was offered was really old fashioned and the carpet in it was the same one when I had been there 20 years ago , the second room I was offered was dark and very dull then I got offered another room and it had the same problem , the facilities are good though , has a good pool and a great spa , the hotel is also in a good location , so overall this hotel has good facilities but not so great rooms ,,,!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
300 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
404 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,975 reviews
19.8 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing