We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding guest”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent a weekend here B&B as guests at a wedding. Our room was very spacious and nicely decorated. The location is stunning, right on the golf links overlooking the Firth of Forth. The Spa facilities, pool and gym are a real bonus. Very nice breakfast. The wedding day was very well organised and catered, a lovely occasion for all who attended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear H F

Thank you so much for your very positive review of the hotel, we are all delighted you enjoyed the wedding and also took advantage of all our facilities and enjoyed the stunning views. We are very proud of our breakfast so delighted you enjoyed it. Our housekeeper was delighted that the rooms and cleanliness scored 5 star.

Hope you can return in the future for a nice spa break and try our outdoor hydro therapy pool.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    701
    443
    186
    72
See reviews for
402
1,246
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Big chain hotel so a bit pricey but thought it would be worth it. Room quite large but let down by the furnishings etc. The service was pretty poor too. Drinks and food were also a little overpriced. Think we would look to go elsewhere on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Kev

Thank you for your review, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We review our prices constantly and price to the local market place and competitors and found we normally offer great value for money for the stunning views, spa and leisure facilities and quality of food.

I hope you might give us another try maybe in the autumn when the prices might be a little lower and you might fell that is more value for money.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Spent 2night break on B&B basis. Excellent breakfast- freshly cooked. Staff attentive and efficient. Menus did not tempt us in the evening as there was a less than exciting choice on both bar menu and restaurant menu.

Furnishings and decor in hotel are extremely well finished. Standard double room had a bed which was comfortable although seemed on narrow side.
Lounges have beautiful view out over the water.
There is a calm, restful atmosphere in the hotel.
There is an excellent indoor pool, gym and outdoor thermal spa. Pool access finishes at 8 pm.
We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay in the hotel and exploring the beaches and coastline in this part of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as ones on front of hotel merely overlook road (quiet) .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan_Family72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Allan

Thank you for your very positive review, I think you summed up the positive things of the hotel very well, stunning location and views, excellent leisure and spa facilities and a team who create a relaxing environment. We take on board your comments about the menu and we hope to keep growing the choice and variety in coming months. Thank you so much for scoring cleanliness at 5 stars.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch in the bar. Service was slow as there was a wedding on but we weren't in a hurry so it didn't matter. We each had a burger and nine chips (arranged like Jenga) which were delicious, beautifully presented and obviously made with care. £35 for two burgers and two coffees and not even gold plated...

We thoroughly enjoyed it and are glad we went- the view was spectacular- but will probably find an independent place next time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrDorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Dr Dorian
Thank you for your very positive review of the quality of the food in the lounge, we are delighted you enjoyed your day relaxing in our lounge with the stunning views over the west links, fidra and the bass rock. I do hope you return in the future as although you mention you thought a little pricey I would have thought the whole experience was maybe worth a few pounds more than somewhere else.

Thank you again and please do come back

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We usually go to St Andrews at this time of year and wanted to try somewhere new because we were meeting friends who love locally. North Berwick is a goregous town and the hotel was clearly the place to be in days gone by, but although the views and location were lovely, we found the accommodation and level of service a bit substandard for the price. Unlike other hotels with similar rates ( ie St Andrews Fairmont), it seemed tired and lacking in that little bit extra. The spa was particularly disappointing-I got only 20 minutes of my 30 minute treatment and the massage seemed rushed and mediocre. I was not offered a bathrobe as I have been in any other spa venue I've gone to and you could hear loud music from an adjacent wedding for the duration of the treatment. It lacked the luxury you expect in little details. To be fair, the manager did not hesitate to give a discount when we informed him of our disappointment and the breakfast was quit good, but I definitely wouldn't hurry back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Lynn

I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your visit, Fiona is our new spa manager and is reviewing all the service standards in the spa and I am sure if you returned you will see some more positive changes that we have already seen in her first 2 weeks.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of the breakfast as we work very hard to make this a dining experience in its own and we only buy the best freshly squeezed orange juice, bacon and sausages.

You might not hurry back but it would be nice to see you again so you can enjoy the stunning views, a stroll into North Berwick and our hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I spent two nights here with my wife in early August. We had a well appointed room with great views across the Forth. As requested there was a bottle of champagne in the room on arrival. The Spa treatments taken by my wife were great. Unfortunately however the service at breakfast was a bit of a let down. On the first morning service was initially very slow, then our breakfast order was lost and finally very slow to arrive once this had been chased up. To be fair the breakfast was good when it did arrive, but service poor. It was therefore disappointing when next morning breakfast was again very slow to arrive. These issues were pointed out at the time and concern and regret was expressed by the staff and the price of a bottle of wine taken off the final bill. However, I feel that such simple issues should not arise at all in an establishment charging what are undeniably fairly upmarket prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Chris I am sorry that you felt let down by the breakfast service during you stay as you seemed very satisfied with everything else including the food itself. We take breakfast very seriously however during the week you stayed we struggles to cope with the numbers of guest all descending on breakfast at the same time as we are use to having a very mixed business who all enjoy breakfast over the three and half hours we are open. We learnt from this experience and opened other areas to service breakfast and increased staffing levels to manage it more effectively.

We so hope you return and enjoy the stunning views, excellent spa and a team who want our guests to enjoy and relax during their stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The marine hotel is well positioned near the seafront, with good parking. Our room was very spacious with a small but adequate bathroom. The thermal suite was excellent . On the downside while we were there the water was turned off in our room from 9 am - 4 pm which was disappointing. Also the main restaurant menu positioned near reception changed once in the 4 days we were there - which was not good , and finally the lounge bar service on the Monday evening was poor. Despite the lounge not being busy we had to go to the bar each time something was needed e.g. further drinks, cutlery for our meal etc. I think for the overall star rating for the Marine hotel it fell a little short on these issues.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacdonaldRegionalGM, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Wendy

Thank you for your generally positive review, I note a very positive 5 stars for cleanliness. I have investigated the water comment but could find no details of any issues with the water, so not sure what happened. The restaurant changes daily although on investigation it seems the restaurant team had forgotten to change the menu in reception which is very disappointing. I am sorry that the bar team were not on top of things as our normal service standards would be full table service and the bar just been used to dispense drinks, the restaurant and bar manager will again highlight this to the team.

I do hope next time you are in Scotland we get the opportunity to show more consistency in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,144 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing