We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but effective”

The Rocketeer Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in North Berwick
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simple but effective”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Part of the group who run the lobster shack in north berwick harbour this restaurant is opposite the sea bird centre. On a warm sunny day overlooking the bass rock eating fresh lobster and sea bass simply prepared is close to paradise. Get there early as they run out quickly as it's so popular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kraggash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    79
    27
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

A lovely wee outdoor restaurant next to the sea. We both had fish and chips with a half pint of lager each, the best fish supper I've had in a while, to add to this delightful lunch the sunshine was beaming down ... perfect!!
A takeaway menu is also available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a great find. Fantastic fresh seafood by the harbour at North Berwick, the Rocketeer is destined to take off. Only open during the summer season, there can be nothing better than sitting by the sea in the sunshine enjoying local lobster, a seafood platter or simply the best fish and chips I have enjoyed in a long time. Great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandandMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Not the best fish and chips we have ever tasted, but definitely the most expensive.
We paid 9.95 for haddock and chips and 3.50 for small carton of chips. Disgusting value for the amount you got, but my husband did say the fish was tasty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShellW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fish and Chips Plus”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Having recently relocated to the Edinburgh area, a neighbour recommended that we try the fish and chips at The Rocketeer. We were not disappointed. The fish was incredibly fresh and the chips were delicious. My husband and I shared the Seafood Platter which consisted of battered fish, chips, mussels, breaded salmon goujons and half a lobster with a homemade coleslaw garnish. We washed it down with cider and ale from local Scottish breweries which were also very good. The only thing that slightly let the dining experience down for me was eating the fabulous food off disposable plates with plastic cutlery. The staff were incredibly friendly and our puppy and toddler were made very welcome. An absolute must if you visit North Berwick before the end of October and it's not raining!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rocketeer Restaurant also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to The Rocketeer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing