We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely respite on our trip.”
Review of The Glebe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glebe House
Ranked #6 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I would agree with most of the other reviewers that this is an exceptional B&B. It is a handsome old home with relatively giant rooms, about 25 miles east of Edinburgh. The location is prime -- a five-minute walk to the High Street, a five minute drive to North Berwick's spectacular golf course, and maybe ten minutes to the Scottish Air Museum. Right behind the house is the magnificent Berwick Law (hill) which towers over the Firth, and is available for ambitious hikers.

My traveling companion and I had two lovely rooms; his was en-suite and mine had a bath a few steps down the hall. All the amenities, plumbing and conveniences worked fine. Our hostess, Gwen, was charming and will, no doubt, make you feel as welcome as she made us.

I have three minor complaints:

a. The house, including the stairs, is filled with nick-knacks and it's hard to get a big suitcase up the stairs and not run the risk of bumping into something beautiful and fragile. For example, while my room was filled with an abundance of furniture there was no rack for my suitcase, and all the furniture was loaded with china and teddy bears. So I ended up with my case on the floor, which is mildly uncomfortable.

b. Gwen's not really into computers and the only room in the house with wifi access is the dining room. The system works unreliable and needed to be rebooted, which was a trifle confusing and inconvenient. In the 21st century, reliable wifi service is pretty much essential.

c. The price is a shade on the high side, compared to the competition in the market. But the facility is always booked up, so I guess the price is what the market will bear.

Other than that, this is an excellent choice for travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Glebe house is a renovated old house from the 17th century overlooking the Firth of Forth in North Berwick. There are approx. 5 bedrooms to rent but the occupation rate is very good so a rservation in advance is mandatory. Glen, the landlady is doing a great job to maitain a very high level oc comfort and service all the time. The city itself and the two local golf courses are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAKRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A great B+B. Location fantastic, breakfast wonderful, hosts gracious, accommodation very comfortable, all in a unique manse bang in the middle of a unique town. If you are visiting NB, look no further, and I know what I am talking about as I grew up here. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I love travelling and staying in B&B's
And what a pleasure it was to stay here.
The house has a beautiful setting and inside is just wonderful
Only a short stroll from the High St and Harbour
The breakfast was lovely around a beautiful table

My only negative and its not really bad is that I would love to have a DAB Radio in the room...lol

Room Tip: We had the choice of a sea view which also over lokked the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank championi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

A father, son and son in law golf trip to Scotland was made even more special by our time in North Berwick. The Glebe House is a must if you're touring the Scottish coast for golf, scenery or just a very fine place to stay. The best B & B accommodations you'll ever find are here and Jake Scott was a great host and breakfast cook. Don't miss this spot on your tour of Scotland.

Room Tip: Gwen and Jake will assure you have the best room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickorynative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here over the weekend for a wedding up in North Berwick. Stunning B&B two minutes from High St and no more than 5 minutes from the beach. Top quality rooms and stunning lounge and cosy to relax and chill. Wonderful breakfast served around a grand table for 10. At the top end of the price range (we paid £120 per room tonight) but probably worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Having traveled to Scotland many times and in North Berwick over 6 times, we cannot recommend a place to stay more enthusiastically. This was our first time at Gwen and Jake Scott's, but hopefully not our last. They have a charming home situated on a hill overlooking the sea. The interior of the home is beautifully appointed and replete with an incredible collection of antiques. From her delicious breakfasts with fresh fruits, yummy breads, eggs, sausage, etc. to the beautiful linens on the beds & bath, you would be hard pressed to find a more comfortable place to rest your weary bones. The location is perfect wherever your travels lead you. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and spent ten days in Scotland - The Scott's won overall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasondtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Berwick hotels
0.6 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 27 in North Berwick
131 reviews
4.4 mi away
Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 27 in North Berwick
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glebe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glebe House

Address: Law Road, North Berwick EH39 4PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: £40 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glebe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Glebe House North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing