We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glebe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glebe House
Ranked #4 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wow! From the convenient location to the décor, everything is sensational. The rooms are generously apportioned with all the creature comforts and Gwen is ever so helpful. I feel spoiled to have had the opportunity to stay here. My only regret is that I didn’t stay longer. Thanks for the memories… Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
57
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Centrally located in N. Berwick in walking distance to many restaurants and bistros.A beach-side town with many attractions (great golf), small town charm and easy access to Edinburgh via train. On top of this, our stay at Glebe House was perfect in every way: Excellent accommodations and location. Proprietor Gwen is knowledgeable, attentive and gracious. The accommodations are exactly as described: Large tastefully decorated rooms, well appointed furnishings and meticulously clean. A full Scottish breakfast is served in a lovely, large formal dining room with views of the firth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We rented two rooms for 3 nights in August 2012 and found it a splendid place to stay. Our hostess Gwen was very welcoming and helpful, from providing umbrellas to good restaurant recommendations. Her full Scottish breakfasts were terrific. We could walk to the Seabird Center, the golf course, great shops and bistros and the train station. The train to Edinburgh took just 30 minutes and delivered us to the center of the Festivals, much better than staying in the city. We hope to stay there whenever we visit Scotland.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
402 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I would agree with most of the other reviewers that this is an exceptional B&B. It is a handsome old home with relatively giant rooms, about 25 miles east of Edinburgh. The location is prime -- a five-minute walk to the High Street, a five minute drive to North Berwick's spectacular golf course, and maybe ten minutes to the Scottish Air Museum. Right behind the house is the magnificent Berwick Law (hill) which towers over the Firth, and is available for ambitious hikers.

My traveling companion and I had two lovely rooms; his was en-suite and mine had a bath a few steps down the hall. All the amenities, plumbing and conveniences worked fine. Our hostess, Gwen, was charming and will, no doubt, make you feel as welcome as she made us.

I have three minor complaints:

a. The house, including the stairs, is filled with nick-knacks and it's hard to get a big suitcase up the stairs and not run the risk of bumping into something beautiful and fragile. For example, while my room was filled with an abundance of furniture there was no rack for my suitcase, and all the furniture was loaded with china and teddy bears. So I ended up with my case on the floor, which is mildly uncomfortable.

b. Gwen's not really into computers and the only room in the house with wifi access is the dining room. The system works unreliable and needed to be rebooted, which was a trifle confusing and inconvenient. In the 21st century, reliable wifi service is pretty much essential.

c. The price is a shade on the high side, compared to the competition in the market. But the facility is always booked up, so I guess the price is what the market will bear.

Other than that, this is an excellent choice for travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The Glebe house is a renovated old house from the 17th century overlooking the Firth of Forth in North Berwick. There are approx. 5 bedrooms to rent but the occupation rate is very good so a rservation in advance is mandatory. Glen, the landlady is doing a great job to maitain a very high level oc comfort and service all the time. The city itself and the two local golf courses are in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

A great B+B. Location fantastic, breakfast wonderful, hosts gracious, accommodation very comfortable, all in a unique manse bang in the middle of a unique town. If you are visiting NB, look no further, and I know what I am talking about as I grew up here. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cameron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I love travelling and staying in B&B's
And what a pleasure it was to stay here.
The house has a beautiful setting and inside is just wonderful
Only a short stroll from the High St and Harbour
The breakfast was lovely around a beautiful table

My only negative and its not really bad is that I would love to have a DAB Radio in the room...lol

Room Tip: We had the choice of a sea view which also over lokked the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank championi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.0 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 27 in North Berwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glebe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glebe House

Property: The Glebe House
Address: Law Road, North Berwick EH39 4PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glebe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Glebe House North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing