We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Canty Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canty Bay House
Ranked #12 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent a night here in July while cycling in East Lothian.The views from our room were a joy.The Bass Rock stunning with the sun illuminating it and the Isle of May off in the distance.The beach below the house is perfect for a relaxing walk in the evening and Tantallon Castle ruin is a short walk away.Accomodation was perfect with a nice deep bath and comfortable bed.Direct access to the terrace from the room gives another dimension and you can chill out watching the sea and the sun setting to end the evening.Breakfast was varied with a cooked option which had some very tasty black pudding and bacon to start the day.Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippersday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lovely view of Birth of Forth and the Bass Rock. Lots of hot water in a beautiful, roomy shower, great breakfast, hospitable host & hostess...
Great walking opportunities too.
Also close to Tantallon Castle - a good spot for a few hours exploring.
What more could one want.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Canty Bay B&B is in a perfect location with truly magnificent views over the Firth of Forth and Bass Rock. We had a wonderful stay,and if you go make sure you take a walk down to the sandy secluded bay behind the house. The bedroom was nicely furnished, comfortable and immaculately clean, and you will be sure of a warm welcome. The breakfast was lovely and a great start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Canty Bay B &B is a beautiful place to stay, suitable for my husband - who is disabled in a wheelchair as it has a ground floor bedroom with an ensuite wet room - plenty of space to park and ramped to the door. Fantastic views and good food ! The beach is within walking distance and it is very close to many golfing centres. Plenty of places to visit very close to Canty Bay.

Room Tip: ground floor bedroom, good accessible wet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duchessSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed for just one night on 7th Feb 2013 and would have to say it was absolutely excellent. We were greeted by Jon who couldn't have been friendlier or more genuine. This was the case throughout our stay. His wife whose name I don't recall was also extremely welcoming.The room was beautiful with an excellent finish and the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom was beautifully done to a high spec with a nice deep bath and lovely fittings. Shower was over the bath which was fine. The views of the Bass Rock and Tantallon Castle were stunning. We took a wee stroll down to the beach which was completely deserted and very picturesque.
Jon dealt with breakfast and let us choose the time we wanted it-just after 9am. An endless supply of good strong coffee and a delicious and nicely presented cooked breakfast set us up for the day. I can't recommend Canty Bay nor its hosts highly enough. 10/10

Room Tip: We were in the Tantallon room which was stunning but I think the Bass rock room has a double aspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A superb guest house in a wonderful location. We were served marvelous Scottish breakfasts (all the usual English stuff but with the addition of Black pudding and potato cakes) with loads of toast etc. It's just as well our stay was only for two nights because any more of this irresistible cuisine would have had me going up a size in the trouser dept.

Alison, the manager, was friendly and eager to please and being local was a mine of information.

Everything was tip top and spotless which reflected the fact that this guest house has only been open since the Spring of this year. Our only minor complaint, which isn't a complaint really, was the fact that the mattress was a tad on the firm side for our 60+ bodies. As far as mattress quotient goes the softer the better for us but no doubt many guests will find these beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: 'Bass Rock' room must have the best views of the Bass Rock of any house on the mainland. A t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo301049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Canty Bay House is one of the bet places we have stayed in. The house is fantastic in every sense: location, views, standard of decor throughout, cleanliness and comfort. The welcome from Jon on arrival was warm and friendly. The manager Allison gave us a beautifully cooked evening meal and was tremendously good company to go with it.
Although no alcohol is available from Canty Bay, Jon recommended a trip to the local Tesco which is less than a two minute drive away. Allison was happy to put white wines in the fridge to be chiiled nicely for mealtime.
The spectacular sunset was a joy as we finished our drinks on the beautiful roof terrace after our meal. To top off the evening we spent an hour or so missing pool balls in the fantastic games room.
Breakfast was freshly served and we couldn't have asked for a better start to the day.
We would recommend Canty Bay House vey highly to anyone looking to stay near Edinburgh. We will certainly be coming back in the future. Thanks for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirangDang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,257 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
312 reviews
6.1 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
443 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
8.5 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canty Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canty Bay House

Property: Canty Bay House
Address: Canty Bay, North Berwick EH39 5PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Canty Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canty Bay House North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing