We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Canty Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canty Bay House
Ranked #12 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights in the most welcoming, scenic, and comfortable b&b. From the moment we were welcomed on pulling up to the moment we were waved off on leaving nothing was too much trouble. When we mentioned a planned early start one day using a taxi our hosts said they would give us a lift (what service!) I really can't rate this highly enough.

Room Tip: Upstairs for views, but a really comfortable downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a great 2 night stay in May 2014. Great B&B with well furnished spacious rooms, delicious breakfast and very warm owner. Would recommend it for easy access to North Berwick and it is on the doorstep of Tantallon castle.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We visited for two nights and were not disappointed. The hotel was absolutely stunning and we couldn't find fault with anything. Karolyna couldn't do enough for us and the breakfasts were outstanding.
I cannot recommend this gem highly enough and we will be back soon

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Weaverss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would just like to say on behalf of my partner Donna & I. What a lovely friendly & helpful staff at the Hotel. The views alone from our bedroom window were fantastic. Sat in bed looking at the Bass Rock Island, full of Gannets was a real treat for Donna, me too. The hearty breakfast sets you up for your trip out around the local shops etc. The town of Berwick was a pleasure to go round & all parking was free, also the Restaurants we had an evening meal in were really nice places & food was great.
I took Donna my partner up to North Berwick especially to take her on a boat trip round the Bass Rock to see and photo the Gannets, but the weather was not in our favour that weekend. So I plan to take Donna back next year.
The hotel was a pleasure to stay in, That's why we will be going back. Tony & Donna

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for a night over the bank holiday weekend and have to say the whole stay was fantastic. We were lucky enough to get the Bass Rock room which surprise surprise has amazing views of Bass Rock! It also has a large comfy bed, great shower/ensuite and direct access to the deck. There's a fridge in the room to chill a bottle of wine for drinking on the deck.

The accomodation is located on a beautiful bay with a path down to a lovely secluded beach.
There is also a games room with TV, books and Pool Table.

Your hosts cant do enough to make your stay an enjoyable one. Jon the owner is a keen golfer and able to offer great advice and make tee time bookings.

Breakfast is great as well.

Cheers Jon! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent a night here in July while cycling in East Lothian.The views from our room were a joy.The Bass Rock stunning with the sun illuminating it and the Isle of May off in the distance.The beach below the house is perfect for a relaxing walk in the evening and Tantallon Castle ruin is a short walk away.Accomodation was perfect with a nice deep bath and comfortable bed.Direct access to the terrace from the room gives another dimension and you can chill out watching the sea and the sun setting to end the evening.Breakfast was varied with a cooked option which had some very tasty black pudding and bacon to start the day.Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippersday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lovely view of Birth of Forth and the Bass Rock. Lots of hot water in a beautiful, roomy shower, great breakfast, hospitable host & hostess...
Great walking opportunities too.
Also close to Tantallon Castle - a good spot for a few hours exploring.
What more could one want.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,280 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
314 reviews
6.1 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
353 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canty Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canty Bay House

Property: Canty Bay House
Address: Canty Bay, North Berwick EH39 5PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Canty Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canty Bay House North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing