We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin stay at gilsland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilsland Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilsland Park
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cabin stay at gilsland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although got 2 nights deal on itison would still happily pay full price. Just back will definately book for summer well maintained site,beautiful beaches 5mins in car north berwick town centre lovely everything onyour doorstep would highly recommend it. Very minor downside (for some) outside toilets & communal kitchen but very clean!! All in all loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the glamping cabins. Facilities are excellent everything needed toaster, kettle, pots, pans, plates, cutlery and even tea coffee salt and pepper nice touch. Landry room one of the best I have ever saw. Lovely beach nearby. Shame it's wasted by the 2 collies that the owners of the park give free roam to. I'm a responsible dog owner and mine is on a lead at all times as the park rules state. I have a small child that is wary of other dogs and for this reason I wouldn't recommend as the owners should apply their own rules. Sad as the place really is a gem but lazy owners waste it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imnotamoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlene M, Owner at Gilsland Park, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our park. I am sorry that you felt the dogs should have been tied up. Collie dogs at Gilsland are part of the furniture and are the best entertainment for children bar none. Your complaint regarding our dogs is in fact the first one we have ever received. However, we do thank you for your feed back, as we are always striving to improve the park and our service. It is just a pity you didn't mention it at the time as I would have only been too happy to tie up the dogs if you so wished. Going forward we will ensure that we ask our visitors if they would prefer our dogs to be tied up or left out to play. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

we stayed in a camping cabin at the september weekend. they really are tardis like on the inside,. everything you get in a normal kitchen bar the sink.
lovely big bunkbeds and a fold down sofa bed. It was a bit nippy outside but lovely and warm inside.the owner adam was there everyday to assist with any queries. the toilet blocks were lovely and clean and we didnt queue for showers etc at any point. they also have a laundry room which was handy. gilsland is lovely and peaceful 24 hours a day with no club or large playgrounds to spoil the serenity. we have a 7 year old and he wasnt bored at all, he and other kids were well behaved and played with bikes, scooters etc and just hung out with each other and amused themselves the old fashioned way. Gilsland is in a lovely peaceful location just outside the town of north berwick.there is a sports centre within walking distance with swimming etc. north berwick itself is beautiful with narrow streets full of places to eat and shop,smashing beach and is full of interesting things to do and see, there is also a few golf courses for the men. we are returning next year.

Room Tip: choose a camping cabin, they are great value and you dont have to worry about the weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamsparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My partner and I recently stayed in one of camping cabins. They are very cute and cosy and had plenty of room for the two of us inside. The facilities were quite clean and the surrounding area was beautiful and peaceful. We were provided with everything detailed on the website: 'crockery, cutlery, heating, electric lighting, storage for food and clothes, a kettle, toaster, radio and private, decked area'. My only complaint would be that our DVD player didn't work which was very disappointing as that was one of the main reasons of booking with Gilsland and not Wigwams. I did contact the owner at 7pm and they said they could see if somebody could come out......but nobody did. Just got the general feeling they were not interested in our complaint. Spoke to another resident at check out who also mentioned poor quality of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cryztal_Light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlene M, Owner at Gilsland Park, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your feed back on the DVD player and I can assure you we do take your feedback and customer service seriously. The tv, dvd combo is only 2 months old and it was our first notification that it was not working. Indeed the dvd motor appeared to have failed, which is why you had access to tv but were unable to play movies. Unfortunately, something that we would not have been able to fix that evening. I am sorry that we were unable to provide you with a replacement machine at 7pm that night but I can assure you that the fault was recorded the very next day and a new machine ordered. I am also now considering holding a "spare" tv and dvd in stock so that in future we would be able to provide an immediate replacement so nobody would be disappointed at not having access to a movie. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My daughter and I hired a camping cabin on this site for 2 nights. Our only disappointment was that we didn't stay longer. The campsite is clean, spacious and restful and North Berwick is a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk away with it's pretty town centre, good restaurants, and brilliant beaches. The cabin is indeed small but very cute and even had it's own tiny TV and all other camping requirements, even a gas barbeque. We just needed to bring sleeping bags and pillows. Two adults fitted fine in it, 2 adults and 2 very small children would be OK but not anymore than that. The toilet block was clean and well kept, as was the dishwashing area. The staff were very helpful but not intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Homeisbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Lovely and clean caravan park, with very friendly and accommodating staff both during the booking process and also whilst staying on site. All the toilet/shower block and laundry areas were spotless - a well laid out park with playing areas for the children.

The camping cabin we stayed in was surprisingly spacious, with a kettle/box fridge and a heater for those cool nights. Crockery and cooking pans and utensils were provided - all you had to bring was your pillow/sleeping bag and food.

Helpful?
11 Thank Liz106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.0 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aaran Haven & Aaran Oaks
Aaran Haven & Aaran Oaks
#1 of 6 in North Berwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilsland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilsland Park

Property: Gilsland Park
Address: Newhouse Rd, North Berwick EH39 5JA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilsland Park is a family run, family focussed holiday park located in the charming harbour town of North Berwick, East Lothian. A wide choice of holiday accommodation from the unique and fun camping cabins, to fully equipped caravans, Superior Studio's for 2 people with hot tubs and our large and luxurious Hot Tub Lodges that sleep up to 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gilsland Park North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing