We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Park - Very child friendly!”
Review of Gilsland Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilsland Park
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband, myself and twin grandsons aged 7 stayed here for 4 nights in a gold caravan and had a fabulous time! The caravan was beautiful, well equipped and cleaned to a high standard. The view was amazing and sunsets from our decking were amazing! The boys loved it. Our plans to go our for dinner on a couple of nights didn't happen as they had such fun with all the friends the made on the site. Was lovely to watch the children mix and play so well. There are a couple of play areas but lots of grassy areas for them to play games. The site is so safe and allowed us to relax with no concerns about their safety. The dog Boo was a lovely attraction - so friendly and loved the children. Caroline and Adam the owners were lovely and so helpful. Nothing was a problem. The walk into town takes about 20 minutes but took us longer as we went through Lodge Park which was lovely and has a great play ground. Some of the boys friends were in the cabins and they looked great fun! However my husband and I like a wee bit of luxury and we certainly got that in the caravan. Lovely relaxing holiday despite two seven year olds!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mentalmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just home from an amazing 2 night say with my partner and our 2 sons aged 18months and 9.

WOW.. The camping cabins were wonderful.. We even had some guests who were straying in caravans come for a wee nosey and they were jealous lol.

Every area f the place was immaculate with great attention to details.. Had more facilities than some hotels we have stayed!

We met Adam who was lovely and communicated with Carlene through email who also seemed lovely..

Our fav staff member tho was the dog.. Who played ball with our baby and was so well behaved.

Our Ryan loves the Woof Woof.

We will most certainly return as the park and North Berwick was great also Dunbar was a lovely wee place worth a visit too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheralee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Like others this was an Itison offer for 2 nights in a lovely Cabin. The caravan site is a family run business which has been carried down through 3 or 4 generations. The current owners are Adam & Carlene who are a 'brother and sister' duo. They are both very friendly and approachable, clearly demonstrating that they couldn't do enough for their visitors. We were "immensely" impressed with the cleanliness and "high quality" of the cabin and surroundings communal buildings. Very importantly the bed gave a very comfy night's sleep which was unexpected and a bonus. We definitely could not fault the site in any way, shape or form. We even told Carlene, that having stayed in Gleneagles once, the Gilsland Park has the best showers ever (as long as you like strong water pressure that is). North Berwick is perfectly located for going to so many different places and is such a beautiful town similar to St Andrews in character.

Like others we extended our stay and have booked to return now in a month as our 4 year old son loved it. Definitely book to go here as you will be very impressed - cabin life was a great experience .... personally I want one in my back garden now !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferR542054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlene M, Owner at Gilsland Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and we just have to hope for more good weather when you come back to join us later on in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent a week at Gilsland Park. What can I say? I have never stopped on a more well maintained site. Everything is layed out perfectly. The caravan I stayed in was less than a year old and spotlessly clean. It was classed as a gold standard. The views from the rear of the van were breath taking. Istayed Saturday to Saturday, during the week it was absolute heaven with peace and quiet come Friday evening it did get noisy with children but this is to be expected as a lot of the vans are privately owned. The joint owner, Carlene is very friendly and will answer any questions you have.Titch the handyman is also a great guy who will down tools to spend time talking with you. My wife and myself enjoyed our stay so much before leaving we booked for next year. Don't worry about the owners dog roaming free it never bothered us.

Room Tip: Ask to book Forth View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondt760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlene M, Owner at Gilsland Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back here next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked 2 nights through itison and extended our stay by a 3rd night. Fantastic little cabins, got everything you need including a gas/BBQ patio stand to use anytime. Cutlery, crockery, picnic table on the decking. Great showers, clean toilet & kitchen with microwave. There's a toaster & kettle in every cabin. 1.3miles to the beach and town centre and same to Berwick Law which is a great climb for a fantastic view. Park is friendly, clean & well kept. Pet friendly which is a must for us, loads of rabbits tho so not ideal if u have a mad terrier like mine, the cabins are great for dogs and easy to clean. Overall a great place to stay and will come again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janismca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although got 2 nights deal on itison would still happily pay full price. Just back will definately book for summer well maintained site,beautiful beaches 5mins in car north berwick town centre lovely everything onyour doorstep would highly recommend it. Very minor downside (for some) outside toilets & communal kitchen but very clean!! All in all loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in one of the glamping cabins. Facilities are excellent everything needed toaster, kettle, pots, pans, plates, cutlery and even tea coffee salt and pepper nice touch. Landry room one of the best I have ever saw. Lovely beach nearby. Shame it's wasted by the 2 collies that the owners of the park give free roam to. I'm a responsible dog owner and mine is on a lead at all times as the park rules state. I have a small child that is wary of other dogs and for this reason I wouldn't recommend as the owners should apply their own rules. Sad as the place really is a gem but lazy owners waste it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imnotamoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlene M, Owner at Gilsland Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our park. I am sorry that you felt the dogs should have been tied up. Collie dogs at Gilsland are part of the furniture and are the best entertainment for children bar none. Your complaint regarding our dogs is in fact the first one we have ever received. However, we do thank you for your feed back, as we are always striving to improve the park and our service. It is just a pity you didn't mention it at the time as I would have only been too happy to tie up the dogs if you so wished. Going forward we will ensure that we ask our visitors if they would prefer our dogs to be tied up or left out to play. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Berwick hotels
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aaran Haven & Aaran Oaks
Aaran Haven & Aaran Oaks
#1 of 6 in North Berwick
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
2.9 mi away
Canty Bay House
Canty Bay House
#13 of 26 in North Berwick
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilsland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilsland Park

Address: Newhouse Rd, North Berwick EH39 5JA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Berwick
Price Range: £45 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilsland Park is a family run, family focussed holiday park located in the charming harbour town of North Berwick, East Lothian. A wide choice of holiday accommodation from the unique and fun glamping cabins, Family Studios, fully equipped Caravans, Superior Studio's for 2 people with hot tubs and our large and luxurious Hot Tub Lodges that sleep up to 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gilsland Park North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing