We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Tiger Coast

Tiger Coast
Ranked #27 of 41 Restaurants in North Berwick
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have visited Tiger Coast before and thought of it just a reasonable sort of Indian,, i have not changed my opinion. Went this week whilst visiting in the area, were shown to a table through the back which was porly lit , very dull. However the menu was brought fairly quick and the drinks we ordered were just as quick. We did order poppadums to eat while the starter was prepared, that did keep us occupied. starter , i had onion bhaji , my companion had chicken puri, which was so dry , no spice to it and bland,, main course , chicken shashlik, the other chicken jalfrzei, shashlik again was bland , jalfezei very spicy. great portions , much to much to eat, about half of it left, shame to waste as much food. Cannot say i really enjoyed the food. resaturant was fairly busy , it was a saturday evening and i would expect it to be busy,, people much have better choice than we did. Really , the main course would have been enough. You can never tell what to expect in Indian Resaurant , some are meager portions but this was just too much. Shame it was left.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DTBluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    21
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“jaymac”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I take the family here at the end of our holiday each year and it has always been very good with the nicest staff. This year it was all new staff and although not impolite they were not that welcoming. One in particular was not at all friendly. I hope the tip reflected that. Food was fine but not the standard we have had in the past.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Banquet !!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We dined at Tiger Coast on a Sunday evening- on arrival we were shown to our table through the back of restaurant and promptly given menus and asked what drinks we would like. We were asked if we would like the Sunday banquet meal......normally one to shy away from offers as menu choice/portion sizes tend to be smaller, we decided to give it a try!
From 5pm-930pm on Sundays (dine in only) you can get the following offer for £9.95 p/p.
1 starter
1 main course
1 side dish
1 pilau rice or naan
1 reg coffee
(Extra £3.50 for fish, beef or KPrawn)
There's no special menu- you can choose anything from their extensive menu! Portion sizes seem to be the same as other evenings I've been.
All of our dishes were delicious, with just the right amount of spice/heat. Service was great- friendly and attentive staff.
Would def recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Curry”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Been before and really pleased that their very high standards have been maintained. The restaurant is spotless, service all you can ask for, and the curry is really good. The Garlic and Mushroom Rice is brilliant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tighthead22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tiger Coast but not as you know it”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Been going to Tiger Coast for number of years, as the food and staff have been excellent. The original menu has now been updated and whilst the food is still good,why did they remove the North Indian Goa curry from the menu as this was exceptional and I was disappointed it is no longer available. Hope this will be reinstated and hope the old boy enjoys his retirement. Mohammed seems a lovely son to takeover from his father. As long as he stops saying Madam :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiger Coast also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Tiger Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing