We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food if you are prepared for a long wait and indifferent service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Links Bar & Lounges at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

The Links Bar & Lounges at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #36 of 43 Restaurants in North Berwick
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food if you are prepared for a long wait and indifferent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had booked a table for three of us on a quiet Monday evening. We were a little disappointed with the appearance of the restaurant which looked as if it had seen better times and was distinctly lacking in any atmosphere!
Upon being seated by flippant waiter we ordered drinks which took an age to arrive along with a small plate with three small pieces of bread which was plonked on the table.We were a little bemused by this as every other table was given a wooden platter complete with dipping oils!That waiter disappeared into the ether so I chased up a replacement platter and the remaining third drink!
After our first course we were then in for what transpired to be a wait of nearly one hour for the main course..During that time all waiting staff vanished for long periods of time so eventually I got up and waited by the cash desk for the maître D' to materialise. I was told there had been' an incident in the kitchen ' and finally our meals arrived. After another wait for desert.I paid the bill and I complained about the time it took for our mains to arrive and got a minuscule discount on our final bill.What a shame as the food was good but everything else ...dreadful!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“superb restaurant and fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have had the priviledge of staying at The Marine Hotel & Spa before and after refurbishment and the restaurant has never let us down. Dinner is amazing - plenty to choose from. Staff look after you. Breakfast is out of this world - buffet continental and then your choice of full cooked breakfast, kippers, poached eggs. Whatever you want you can order!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“TASTY FOOD SERVICE LACKING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Popped in to the Links Bar for lunch. Knew that the menu was a bit over-priced having checked on-line but for something different tried the Marine.

Picked about the cheapest on the Menu, Sausage, Mash and Onion Gravy - £13.50. Waited a little for the meal, but when it arrived it was very tasty and nicely presented.

Whilst we were sitting about before our meal noticed that the staff were not organised. There was a Barman and 3 others floating about, but the 3 others were passing tables that were clearly empty and had dishes waiting to be cleared but no one seemed to want to clear them. Eventually one of them did.

Once we got our meal we had an empty beer bottle and vegetable dishes on the table but despite the staff floating past and asking if we were enjoying our food, no one made to pick up the empty beer bottle and vegetable dishes, meaning that our small table was very crowded. Again eventually a young man noticed them whilst passing and cleared them away.

To sum up nice food but not impressed by the service given by the staff of which there were plenty for the number of guests.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank borthwickdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Amazing views in relaxed environment. Ideal for morning coffee, afternoon tea or just a drink watching sun going down over Bass Rock

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality Counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent all round service. Great views over Golf Course And Lovely Fresh Scones made a very pleasant afternoon. Combine with a spa break and you have found a winner

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Links Bar & Lounges at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to The Links Bar & Lounges at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing