We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Bit on the Side is a very comfortable home from...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Bit On The Side

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Old Abbey Road is a quiet, family-friendly street just 5 minutes from the High Street.
The apartment sits opposite the 800 year-old ruins of North Berwick Priory.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
131mariej...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Bit on the Side is a very comfortable home from home.”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

North Berwick is a lovely place to visit with lots to do and see. It has beautiful beaches and interesting gift shops.

The A Bit on the Side studio flat was the perfect place to stay during my visit. It was clean, comfortable, modern and within walking distance of the beach, shops and train station. Patrick (the owner) and his family were excellent hosts and made me feel very welcome. I will recommend A Bit on the Side to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean and comfortable.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Many thanks for such a kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the studio and appreciated North Berwick and its surroundings. You're right - there is a lot to do for a small town. Needless to say, we would be delighted to welcome you back whenever you fancy another trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornam154
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay....But Beware the Wash Day Blues”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

North Berwick & Gullane are our favourite escapes and we have enjoyed many a weekend rental in this part of the country. 'A Bit on the Side' is comfortable and is well equipped for a weekend away, Patrick, the host, was welcoming and helpful - our request on a Friday evening for an iron & ironing board was responded to in minutes. The bottle of Prosecco chilling in the fridge was a lovely surprise.

However, we were very disappointed that the host should find it acceptable to enter our private accommodation when we were out to use the washing machine without our prior permission or mentioning on arrival that this might be a possibility. Having returned from our day out we met the host in the garden who informed us there was a load in the machine. We found this to be a very unnecessary intrusion of our privacy and one that could surely have been avoided by some alternative arrangement ie friends, family, launderette etc.. Apparently there was an urgent need to wash something which seems incredible when we were vacating the property the following morning. In our view respecting the privacy of your paying guests is paramount.

The accommodation has a shabby chic, beachy vibe which suits its location but we found the 12" cracked window in the living area, the broken chair, cracked crockery and lack of basic drinking glasses to be signs of a place that needed a little TLC.

On our return home we received an e-mail from the host in which he apologised for entering the property without our permission but after the fact the damage had been done and we left very much with the wash day blues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The intrusion of privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Hands up ... these criticisms seem pretty fair.
I think we became so used to a succession of 5 star reviews that we became careless.
So in response to your points ...
- a new washing machine arrives next week and will be plumbed into the garage - I do ask guests but in your case I simply forgot and it was an emergency .. but that's not good enough so the problem should now be solved.
- the chair was indeed more shabby than chic so it has been removed
- a new window has been ordered to get rid of the crack
- more drinking glasses have been added to complement the wine and beer glasses (sorry I hadn't noticed the old ones had disappeared)
- I couldn't find any cracked crockery but will check again after the present guests leave - perhaps it was the dish we deliver the fresh eggs in?
We believe fair criticisms are a help rather than a problem so I hope these steps to solve the difficulties seem an appropriate response from your point of view.
Thanks for visiting us and please accept our apologies for the problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterTall...
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable,quiet cosy bijou flat”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very comfortable one room flat with shower/toilet. Bright,well furnished and all the cooking equipment needed. Friendly greeting and help from Patrick. Would love to go again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
And we would love you to visit us again. Many thanks for such a kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Perfect Bit on the Side!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at the Bit on the Side recently and it was fantastic! It has everything you could wish for and more. The place was very clean and comfortable and I especially loved the huge head shower! : ) And it is in a perfect location for the train station, the High Street and the beach...what more could you want! Patrick, the owner was very friendly and accommodating and I would love to go back for another visit very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
... and we would love to welcome you back for another visit very soon. Many thanks for such a kind review and for being a great guest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithhle...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location, lovely apartment and great hospitality”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My sister and I were both so pleased to arrive at such a lovely, spotless and attractive apartment. Patrick ensured we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and two fresh eggs! Mac the dog was very friendly too! We will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the decoration was just to our taste
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Glad the chickens and dog were so welcoming. And would of course be delighted to welcome you back. Perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimWallac...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magic”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have rented a few properties in North Berwick, but this very well equipped apartment has got to be our best yet.Patrick welcomed us and showed us the beautifully decorated apartment, which we would describe as Laura Ashley meets IKEA . It is just minutes from the High St, golf course and the beach. We received freshly laid eggs from Patrick's chickens, a bottle ofCava in the fridge cooling along with the provisions of tea,coffee,sugar & milk all provided by our host. We returned home feeling truly relaxed. Many thanks again James Hill

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Many thanks for such a thoughtful and positive review. We would love to host you again on your next trip to North Berwick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smr515Dur...
durham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We wanted an option to Edinburgh but somewhere accessible by train and near the beach, (don't want much do we) however this was a great place, 3 mins walk to station, 5 mins walk to beach and 10 mins walk to some brilliant restaurants and fantastic coastal walks.
Patrick our host was very welcoming and we soon settled in, very well equipped and great showers and towels, if we were to have any negative comments it would be that after 3 nights the bed wasn't the most comfortable, however it's not the hosts fault, or because it's an old bed, it's a combination of the IKEA mattress and me being 18 stone! If it had a topper on it would make a difference but that's probably being a little over zealous. We'd stay here again without hesitation, we had a brilliant time, helped by Scottish sunshine, great local food and a brilliant train service into Edinburgh for only £13.20 return for 2 people !
Would have cost double to park a car.
Patrick thank you for your hospitality, worth the trip !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Many thanks for such a kind review. Pleased you found the studio to your liking and I like your suggestion about the mattress topper. I will now look into this. Hope to see you again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing