We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous studio apartment close to the town...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Bit On The Side

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Old Abbey Road is a quiet, family-friendly street just 5 minutes from the High Street.
The apartment sits opposite the 800 year-old ruins of North Berwick Priory.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Allan N
1 review
“Fabulous studio apartment close to the town centre & station”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The studio is great, brilliant location for both the town centre and the train station if needed, and plenty of parking. Studio apartment itself is superb, everything you need for a comfortable stay and the bottle of CAVA left chilled for our arrival was a really nice touch. Shower was superb and great communication from Patrick throughout our stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Many thanks for such a positive review. Much appreciated. You were terrific guests and we would be delighted to host you again on your next trip to North Berwick!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Exceeded expectations - ideal for the short , quiet break I was looking for. Studio was excellent space and well located for exploring North Berwick. Patrick was great host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked North Berwick on your first visit. Perfect guest .... so please do return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Battery Charger”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

For the third year I enjoyed my stay and it was as good as the last two years. Will probably go again next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Great to know that once again, you enjoyed re-charging your batteries with us in North Berwick. Hope to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
What a great review! Many thanks ... glad you enjoyed your stay. Also pleased that our two girls at the bottom of the garden were in the mood to supply you with breakfast. Sometimes they are a bit too 'posh to push' but you were in luck. You will of course be welcome back anytime. Really great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Markyb24
Hull, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay, Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016


Patrick and his wife were very welcoming and kind for our fantastic 2
nights stay in this very modern, clean cosy apartment. Has all the
amenities you need plus an extremely nice welcome gift of a bottle of Cava
chilling in the fridge on arrival. Thank you very much, will be certainly
coming back to stay again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in North Berwick so much ... and made good use of the proximity of the train station to enjoy your Edinburgh trip. And thanks for being great guests - we would love to welcome you back on your next trip to NB.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H
2 reviews
“An awesome place to stay to explore North Berwick and perfectly situated for the train to Edinburgh.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for four nights and found the place perfect for what we wanted. It was spotlessly clean, light and had all the facilities we needed - the prosecco in the fridge for our arrival was a welcome bonus! The shower is amazing and the studio space gave us a good spot to relax when the weather wasn't great. Patrick was a great host; warm and welcoming, gave us some great advice on local places to see/eat and a bonus chat on the economics and culture of North Berwick. Would absolutely book here again for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
A big thank you for such a kind review. This is much appreciated and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in North Berwick. Hope to see you again before long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent 3 nights on a last minute break.Apartment was well equipped,comfortable and had everything we needed.Location great, , so handy for all the sights of North Berwick and being so close to the train station was a great advantage.Didn't use car the entire time we were there.
Patrick was very pleasant and helpful and nothing was any bother.Would definetly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. We are delighted to enjoyed your stay in North Berwick so much and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;