We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic B&B and brilliant hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic B&B and brilliant hosts”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Two of my friends and I stayed at Netherlaw B&B in August 2013 for two nights. Jo and Richard were fantastic hosts, they could not have made us feel more welcome! The house is lovely and in a quiet street. The rooms were very comfortable, airy, clean and so was our bathroom, clean and bright. The breakfast in the veranda was amazing, it included plenty of fruit juices, fresh fruits, toast etc and Jo's full English breakfast went down a treat.
Jo and Richard were really the friendliest and nicest hosts I have met, they made us feel just like at home and even helped out with direction and transport which was extremely nice. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a wonderful experience and excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for the review ! The combination of Madeleine Peroux playing in the background and you all chatting away in French over breakfast in the conservatory, gave Netherlaw B and B added glamour and sophistication. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at netherlaw B and B in August 2013. The B and B has a fantastic welcoming environment and hosts Jo and Richard were great. The house and room were very clean and the rooms lovely and bright. Breakfast was fantastic with cold and cooked breakfast on offer-we had both!
The house in a quiet location but is very close to the town and Jo and Richard were happy to recommend places to etc. will defiantly return, excellent value for money-especially in North Berwick.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the positive comments, we hope that, in part, we made your 'big day' very memorable. We were honoured that you chose to stay with us, and very best wishes for your future together. Come back soon ! Jo and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Netherlaw B&B last weekend and were made very welcome. The hosts, Richard and Jo, couldn't have done more to make our two night stay more comfortable.
We booked the room featured in the photo - "The Bernard Langer Suite", so called as the golfer himself had stayed there before whilst competing in a competition. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the ensuite facilities were excellent.
The breakfast was first class and set us up each day to explore the surrounding area.
The house is located on a very quiet street just minutes from North Berwick town centre with its famous golf courses, beach and other attractions.
Would we stay there again? Most definitely and next time I might take my golf clubs!!

Room Tip: The Bernard Langer Suite is first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard Y, Manager at Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for sharing this review of Netherlaw B and B with the TripAdvisor community ! Our breakfast's certainly command attention, be it the fresh eggs, local sausage or Macsweens Black Pudding - all served up with background music to suite your taste and a modicum of banter ! We believe it's the personal touch that makes all the difference ! Thanks again and hurry back to Scotland !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
8.5 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 27 in North Berwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast

Property: Netherlaw Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Netherlaw, North Berwick EH39 4RF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jo and Richard offer a B and B offering very comfortable accommodation, a warm atmosphere, attentive & personalised service and a memorable stay. Our guests describe us as a 'home from home.' Our main room is a very large double room (which can be set up as a twin), with windows on 3 sides, a king size bed, and en suite bathroom with bath and shower. We also offer a twin with adjacent private bathroom. Both rooms have tea and coffee facilities. Guests taking both rooms are adjoined by a pleasant landing area and the upper floor of the house to themselves. Guests especially comment on their breakfast experience. Our full Scottish breakfasts comprise juices, cereals, fresh fruits, Greek style and fruit yoghurts & toasting facilities with a range of breads and Scottish jams and marmalade. The freshly cooked breakfast comprises local farm eggs, bacon and sausage, black pudding and (in the autumn) hand picked mushrooms - which are all served in the conservatory/ garden room overlooking the wildlife pond & waterfall, with background music of your choice and the newspaper. It's a relaxed and unhurried experience! We are not a seafront location, but our position is leafy and quiet, and we are one of the closest proximity b and b locations to the railway station. Trains to Waverley Station in the middle of Edinburgh run every hour (every 30 minutes on Saturdays) & take approximately 35 minutes. Netherlaw is ideally situated for the John Muir Way, or the walks around or to the top of North Berwick Law -with its views west across East Lothian to Edinburgh, south to the Lammermuir Hills and the Borders, east towards Bass Rock and Tantallon Castle, and north over the Firth of Forth to Fife and beyond. The view is spectacular and on a clear day you can see Glas Maol approx. 80 miles away. As keen birdwatchers we can assist with bookings or advice if you are visiting the Seabird Centre or taking a trip to Bass rock - the largest single rock colony of Gannets in Europe. If you are a golfer or golfing couple, we are ideally situated for Gullane, Muirfield, and North Berwick golf courses. You will be in good company as professional and famous golfers have stayed here. If you require a railway station pickup or wedding venue drop off we do that for you, or undertake any other local arrangements to make your stay in North Berwick memorable. We accommodate dogs by prior arrangement but they are not allowed to nick our sausages. Scotland, Edinburgh & North Berwick visitors, walkers, golfers, bird watchers or wedding attendees - a warm welcome awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Netherlaw Bed And Breakfast North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing