We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant and bar, rooms could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good restaurant and bar, rooms could be better”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our third Easter visit at Nether Abbey, and another nice stay. Same room every year, and nothing changed. Bath is working fine, and room ok, but it need a makeover. Breakfast is one of the best.
Restaurant is still popular, and food is excellent. Local deliveries and good cooking. But aren't there less changes on the menu that earlier?
Bar is very good; large selection of ales and whiskies. But especially range of ale, and new ales on tap, is great.
Service is good, and everyone working in the house are smiling, kind and you feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    73
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
122
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is the first time that I've stayed at the Nether Abbey, and was there for a golf break with about 14 others, so a testing time for any hotel.

The double room we were given was excellent, spacious and well laid out, beds a little soft for me, but that's a very personal thing. My friend who likes softer mattresses was more than happy. We didn't try the restaurant as we ate at the various golf courses that we played at, but the bar was great, with a brilliant selection of beers to choose from. Special thanks to Tim and the rest of the bar staff who were prepared to chat to 15 mainly middle aged men, and share a joke, as well as recommending some great beers.

North Berwick is a perfect location for a golfing break with a number of excellent courses nearby. I would recommend Whitekirk which was a great course, and was much better than I had been led to believe, and Gullane. We played the number 3 course which is the shortest, but don't be deceived, it's still a test, as my putting figures demonstrated to me!

North Berwick was quiet, but it is early in the season at the moment. There is a great Thai restaurant in the town though which is well worth a visit, if you want to venture away from the hotel restaurant for a night.

Overall, I was really impressed with the hotel and the location, and hopefully will be back at some stage to try more of the courses in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvp1newc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We visited around a year ago and were enthusiastic in our praise, and being in the area again decided to stay 2 nights. in summary there has been a little decline in all aspects of the hotel and we would be less effusive in our praise.
Firstly on arrivial the room was cold and the radiator clearly needed bleeding, a single radiator for a large room with two glass windows. We mentioned this the first night and we were brought a convector heater to the room, which was ok but not ideal. We mentioned this the next morning to the cleaning staff. nothing was done. No apology. No explanation.
The service in the restaurant varied between excellent to awful and in particular something I really dislike. The female ( owner i think or wife of) brought a family into the breakfast room and for some reason was very attentive to them. no issue there ( no words of welcome to us however). Took their order even though we had been waiting for 20 minutes and their food of course appeared a good while before ours. Service generally was slow.
Would i go back? Maybe? But I dont know what has happened over the last year but the welcoming warm feel has gone and replaced with a kind of functional aspect. The cold room is not really acceptable for £100 / night.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a radiator that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for several nights during a golf trip in May 2011. Very comfortable accomodations, close to many excellent golf venues. Service and food was was very good. Rooms simple, clean and functional.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo_Yoship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a so so hotel and fits the bill for an overnight stay in many ways except for the quality of the restaurant. Service is off-hand bordering on rude. We were kept waiting for ages for the food (roast beef) to arrive and when it did it was cold, overcooked and of somewhat modest proportions. If you stay here I would recommend you eat elsewhere in North Berwick.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taralulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Tasty tasty.
Enjoyed a meal here on our minimoon. Excellent service. We felt we were treated as though it was a 5* restaurant: coats taken, waiting staff exceptionally polite both when booking and eating- prices are in line with simple 'pub grub' so overall a brill place to eat, and I'm sure to stay as well.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilerDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at the Nether Abbey in February 2010 and had a lovely time.
We decided to return for an overnight stay on 11th. February and my wife called the hotel to book on the 7th. She spoke to a woman who she assumed was the owner. The web rate was quoted as £90.00 B&B but she was asked to pay £95.00. When my wife questioned this the person apologised and said that the higher rate had not been updated on the web but she would honour the web price. She took my wife's full details and credit card number and said she would take a £40.00 deposit for a double room.
On arrival around 14.00 hrs. on Saturday 11th. the rather harassed restaurant manager apologised but couldn't find our booking on the system. He said that it wasn't a problem though as they still had a room available. He then passed us over to a manageress who told us room 12 was available but it was made up as a twin and if we waited 5 minutes she would make it up as a double.
Sure enough we were given the key to our room 5 minutes later. When we went up to it it was certainly not one of the 2 that were pictured on the web and it was freezing cold probably because it had been lying empty. We turned up the radiator in the room and bathroom and went out hoping it would be warmer on our return.
The room was still cold on our return and didn't really heat up until much later at night.
Our dinner and breakfast were excellent but the dinner menu wasn't very extensive.
On checking out the following morning we were actually being charged £100.00 for the room rate. I pointed this out to the manageress and she quickly rounded it back down to £90.00. However we still don't know if the £40.00 has been taken from my wife's credit card and we will have to wait until the statement comes in.
Otherwise the hotel was fine. Room was clean and tidy as were the public area's.
It's a shame to have to give the hotel a negative report but it is solely down to the mismanagement who should have taken time to process the booking properly in the first place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetherAbbey, Owner at Nether Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
We have spoken to these guests today to apologise profusely for this mix up which was entirley our fault. The reservation was mislaid and this was down to human error ,as such we were not expecting to use the room that the guest were put in to and we accept that it was cold
and not an ideal room for two. We have offered a return visit as our guests which we very much hope they will accept and give us the opportunity to demonstrate that this was a one off and not our usual standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
23 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
333 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Property: Nether Abbey Hotel
Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing