We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Always a great place for lunch and a drink always very very clean and friendly hugely dog and child friendly. Lovely bar snacks. Nothing to much trouble. Great place after a lovely walk on the beach. Have not stayed over so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DeegeeTee7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    76
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
61
129
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just stayed one night on business, nice warm welcome on arrival, well furnished room but it was on the top floor so there was some obstruction due to the shape of the roof but the room was set up to maximise the headroom, no problems. All the staff including the bar we friendly and helpful to the foreign guests and visitors. Good selection of food that can be eaten in the restaurant or bar area, we had Tapas but they have a great range of burgers.
Bedroom was nice and dark with the curtains closed and very little noise, ensuring a good nights sleep. Bathroom was very clean, scoring a 9.5 out of ten on the grout test.
Thoroughly recommended, far more homely and a lot less pretentious than The Marine near-by.

Room Tip: No lift so first floor is preferable if you are carrying heavy golf bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croughton, England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a smart hotel, sympathetically refurbished in contemporary style, with an attractive restaurant area and bar and nicely furnished good sized bedrooms. The food is excellent (both dinner and breakfast) and the young hotel and restaurant staff are all friendly and helpful.

However, we had a few niggles which marred our stay. Despite 3 telephone and 2 e-mail requests, we never received a booking confirmation, despite promises that we would; on arrival our allocated room at the back of the hotel had been changed to accommodate someone else who booked later; we couldn't sleep on the first night because of noise from the patio area at the front of the hotel, or on the following nights because, having closed the windows, the room became really hot; there were only 4 hangers in the wardrobe (but staff helpfully supplied more when asked); there was no lift (though a very helpful young member of staff very kindly carried our luggage up two floors for us) and nobody bothered to ask us if we had enjoyed our stay. Overall, we felt we were invisible to the management and were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafeJardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our fifth wedding anniversary. Beautiful hotel, gorgeous room (No. 1), very clean and the staff were very friendly and professional. We ate at the restaurant on the Friday evening, having sat outside on the patio to enjoy a drink from the bar in the evening sunshine beforehand. The food was delicious and the breakfast was definitely worth getting up for too. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassmetheSPF30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This has become my favourite independent hotel. We stayed here for a week from 15th July and found our room to be comfortable, well decorated, clean and modern. It was a bigger room than normal and I believe other rooms were similar. The bed was super king size. We were staying here as we were working at a nearby major UK sporting event being held in the area, each evening we arrived back there were little extras left by the Tea/Coffee facilities, shortbread biscuits, fruit/Berries, small pieces of coconut slices, all wrapped nicely with a tartan ribbon, nice touch! The ‘help yourself’ breakfast table is one of the best I’ve seen for a long time with a variety of cereals, nuts/seeds, fruits, cheeses, yoghurts, pastries etc and included the traditional Full English Breakfast including haggis, vegetarian haggis. We observed the hotels staff during quiet times and ‘absolutely hectic’ times, catering for a high number of diners (& drinkers in the bar, some of whom were tasting a good variety of ‘real ales’ on tap). At all times the staff remained professional, attentive and friendly. The Food and variety offered was first-class and well presented, this included the locally caught Lobster, which was available at a modest price. If you want to be sure of a good hotel room, professional/friendly staff, excellent food and interesting beers/cocktails in the bar, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting the area & what a fantastic place . The staff were so pleasant & polite , room's were of a gr8 standard .
We ate in the resturant & the food was as good as we've eaten anywhere in the uk , got to mention the breakie I had the " full Scottish " - smoked bacon , haggis , black pudding , eggs , sausage it really sets you up for the day .
What a great hotel in a great & beautiful part of the uk .

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Si69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

One of our favourite places for lunch in North Berwick. You can either eat in the bar area or in the more formal dining area, both are reasonably relaxed though. There are also tables outside for those sunny days. The service is excellent and the staff are always friendly and smiley. Food is excellent to with a decent choice of food. Menu's are available on their website. We've always had excellent food and service and can highly recommend the Nether Abbey for lunch or dinner if you're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HWatson74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
206 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
353 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Property: Nether Abbey Hotel
Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing