We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful hotel, wonderful staff”
Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had 10 of us in North Berwick for 2 days of business meetings. Nether Abbey Hotel was our venue and they were simply excellent. The rooms are lovely, the food is delicious and every member of staff was helpful. The location is handy for a beach walk - and convenient for short taxi ride to some delightful restaurants.

Room Tip: There are sea facing or street facing rooms. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    74
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
124
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed overnight on a golf trip. I arrived early, and early check in was no problem. After the golf round, I ate at the bar. Waitstaff very friendly. I decided to combine two specials - lobster and fried cod, and it was fantastic. The next morning, had breakfast, and the layout was very nice. Tried my first bite of haggis! The bacon was better :) Overall a very warm experience.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor, and the room seemed a little warm. No a/c, no ceiling fan. Downstairs was de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just had a fantastic lunch at The Nethers! They have a new menu which is just great-fantastic choices and good to see there have been some well needed changes. We had the Nether Abbey Scotch egg- wonderful soft boiled egg wrapped in chorizo sausage meat, served with salad and black pudding...what more could you ask for!!! Confit of duck pot with toast and cranberry was just as tasty...tho would have been nice if served in a pot not a cup...small detail. The Fish pie was delicious -plenty of salmon/prawns/fish...very good indeed!!! Kids menu needs updated...food is great just maybe time for a few changes there too!... .but nice to see they still get a lovely homemade ice cream in a cone for dessert...lovely treat!! Didn't have room for a dessert, but they sounded delicious so will try next time we visit. All staff extremely polite & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a lovely main course of tapas at the Nether Abbey hotel bar, The Fly Half. The Chorizo was particularly good. However the cheese board was disappointing, 3 small slices of cheese with some butter sliced as cheese to make it look like more than there actually was. The oat cakes were tiny as well.
At £7.50 we expected a little more. All in all though, the tapas were really good, and the bar had a great range of beer. The bar staff were friendly and welcoming too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from the Nether Abbey Hotel and were very happy with our stay. North Berwick is a great little town, very interesting.
First of all, we were warmly welcomed at the Hotel and had some complimentary coffee. We actually had no intention of eating there because I am vegetarian and get the most choice at curry shops and Thai and Italian but the nice chap at reception who I presume is the owner asked the chef to do me my very own veggie menu! Only vegetarians will know just how unusual this is and to actually have a choice was nothing short of a miracle!
Our room had a sea view and was spacious and lovely and light with the big windows. We were very happy with it.
Then we went off for dinner. Whow! I enjoyed some absolutely lovely, tasty food! The wine was good too. It was busy and lots of atmosphere and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendlier.
So, we booked again for the following night and enjoyed another tasty meal. My husband is not vegetarian and enjoyed the chicken dish.
We will return to North Berwick and to the Nether Abbey. I can't imagine going anywhere else now in the town.
The fact that the chef can whip up a veggie menu demonstrates he/she is creative and the food is not pre-prepared. The hotel prides itself on local produce and this was evident. It was a real treat for me. And much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Always a great place for lunch and a drink always very very clean and friendly hugely dog and child friendly. Lovely bar snacks. Nothing to much trouble. Great place after a lovely walk on the beach. Have not stayed over so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DeegeeTee7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just stayed one night on business, nice warm welcome on arrival, well furnished room but it was on the top floor so there was some obstruction due to the shape of the roof but the room was set up to maximise the headroom, no problems. All the staff including the bar we friendly and helpful to the foreign guests and visitors. Good selection of food that can be eaten in the restaurant or bar area, we had Tapas but they have a great range of burgers.
Bedroom was nice and dark with the curtains closed and very little noise, ensuring a good nights sleep. Bathroom was very clean, scoring a 9.5 out of ten on the grout test.
Thoroughly recommended, far more homely and a lot less pretentious than The Marine near-by.

Room Tip: No lift so first floor is preferable if you are carrying heavy golf bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Property: Nether Abbey Hotel
Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing