We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have stayed here on business a number of times (and will be doing on in the future) and I think this hotel is wonderful, the rooms are large, nicely decorated, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food great. Stay here if you are in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuthberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    76
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
61
129
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cranves-Sales, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

12 of us stayed in this lovely hotel during a 2 day stay in October this year. The staff could not have been more helpful - even when we dressed up as Pirates and sang until 1am they were cheerful and accommodating. The food was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable - it was such a pleasure to stay there. I would recommend it. Thank you to all the staff for being so charming and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiniJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

A memorable family gathering for our mum's 81st birthday. From the very first contact with the Nether Abbey Hotel I knew this was the place our family could gather and have a wonderful weekend. The staff were excellent - friendly, helpful and very professional - nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was smart, comfortable and welcoming and the quality of the food for our party evening was beyond our expectations. We would highly recommend the Nether Abbey Hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DaDoRonRon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milngavie
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having walked up and down the main street looking for and failing to find anywhere we fancied for lunch that did not serve fast food or had the feel of a fast food restaurant, we asked a local passer by, who said unequivocally that the place you want is The Nether Abbey Hotel. We were not disappointed, and although we had not booked, were not residents, and the restaurant was very busy, we were made most welcome, and were handed a lunch menu fit for a gala dinner. If only we could have stayed for dinner as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had 10 of us in North Berwick for 2 days of business meetings. Nether Abbey Hotel was our venue and they were simply excellent. The rooms are lovely, the food is delicious and every member of staff was helpful. The location is handy for a beach walk - and convenient for short taxi ride to some delightful restaurants.

Room Tip: There are sea facing or street facing rooms. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed overnight on a golf trip. I arrived early, and early check in was no problem. After the golf round, I ate at the bar. Waitstaff very friendly. I decided to combine two specials - lobster and fried cod, and it was fantastic. The next morning, had breakfast, and the layout was very nice. Tried my first bite of haggis! The bacon was better :) Overall a very warm experience.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor, and the room seemed a little warm. No a/c, no ceiling fan. Downstairs was de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just had a fantastic lunch at The Nethers! They have a new menu which is just great-fantastic choices and good to see there have been some well needed changes. We had the Nether Abbey Scotch egg- wonderful soft boiled egg wrapped in chorizo sausage meat, served with salad and black pudding...what more could you ask for!!! Confit of duck pot with toast and cranberry was just as tasty...tho would have been nice if served in a pot not a cup...small detail. The Fish pie was delicious -plenty of salmon/prawns/fish...very good indeed!!! Kids menu needs updated...food is great just maybe time for a few changes there too!... .but nice to see they still get a lovely homemade ice cream in a cone for dessert...lovely treat!! Didn't have room for a dessert, but they sounded delicious so will try next time we visit. All staff extremely polite & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
206 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
352 reviews
9.7 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Property: Nether Abbey Hotel
Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing