We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel been going for years , has lovely rooms , great food , good atmosphere , staff are lovely , is a 5 minute walk from the beach , very family friendly , has got a bit more pricey but I always look forward to coming here , overall all a lovely welcoming hotel !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    73
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
122
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

On our way we pas by this town and choice to stay in this boutiek hotel.very nice clean good location walking distance to the town .apperently the restaurant is good .many people eating
Have good out doir seating ,large rooms good parking ,the hotel is on a main road in town easy
To find,friendy staff,hotel is not cheap the rooms are expences but if you can afford its ok ,
We get a discount of the rooms ,you can always try if it is late in the day.

Room Tip: Really dont know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great selection of well prepared dishes. Attentive wait staff. Good selection of beers & wine. Both formalised & informal settings with the same menu. Would happily return for more. Seafood was particularly good & whilst it wouldn't register on a Michelin guide, it was very tasty & priced accordingly

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We did not stay at this hotel but ate at the Restaurant. Service was attentive, pleasant and professional from the moment we stepped into the building. We did not sit in the conservatory which was busy and a little noisy but this was to be expected on a warm summers evening. We sat inside the restaurant. Decor very nice and tables not too close together.

The food was excellent, ranging from home made burgers to steaks and of course fish. All food was freshly made and there was lots of it. Portions were very generous. Price was reasonable too. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishLady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Annual golf trip to East Lothian and the Nether is the right place to stay.
The service is friendly, efficient and flexible.
The rooms have all you need.
The bar is well renowned for a good selection of well kept beers.
The food suits the rest of the place; plenty of it and good quality.
If there's a gripe then the car park is too small and you have no chance of parking if you return once the bar is properly open.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inmyview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is a cracking hotel. One of the best I've been to for some while.

When I booked this, my expectation was of a run down victorian house. How wrong I was proven to be.

The hotel is a grand victorian property that looks to have been recently refurbished. It's been done in a very tasteful way. The bar and restaurant have been extended and offer a pleasant bright open plan area. My room was clean and fresh. All very nicely done.

Dining is top notch too. I had the fresh mackrell followed by panna cotta, although I was envious of a colleague having the chocolate brownie. There's such a choice it's difficult to know where to start. A pat on the back for the chef!

I always find the people in this part of the country warm and friendly, and it holds true for the staff here.

Highly recommended. In my book the Nether Abbey Hotel deserves 5 stars.


Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NetherAbbey, Owner at Nether Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay.
The Nether Abbey team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night over the Easter break. The hotel is nicely presented with efficient staff. We didn't eat an evening meal but the breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was very good. The rooms are generally very clean and beds comfortable. Summer rates are a little pricey but I guess that's what you have to pay in North Berwick. Give it a try.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Property: Nether Abbey Hotel
Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing