We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of JP's Deli & Cafe

JP's Deli & Cafe
Ranked #12 of 42 Restaurants in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: JP's Deli aims to be your one-stop-shop for all your daily cooking and dinner party needs. Shopping locally has never been so easy, so fun or so delicious! For the ultimate in exclusive dining experiences, on just two Saturday evenings each month, we transform our deli and cafe into an elegant, but intimate and bijoux restaurant. Using whatever's best of the season, JP creates an exquisite, perfectly rounded, menu designed to tantalise your tastebuds. With impeccable attention to detail to your food, ambience and the service you receive - we can guarantee you'll want to come back!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had lunch there on the Bank Holiday Monday past. Excellent little deli/cafe with a good selection of fresh food - cheeses, fish, meat f and v etc. Really excellent little mini quiches, sandwiches and side orders with staff who went the extra mile (went out to find ice when run out) and a smiley can do attitude with kids requests. Quality offer at reasonable prices both in the cafe and in the deli.
Definite return visit when there next - really couldn't have asked for more!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelorus68Herts_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

After visiting JP's Deli and Cafe I felt I had to write a quick review.......recently taken over by JP, it's transforming into one of the best places to go for coffee/lunch and now even dinner! From morning scone or hot breakfast roll to individual quiches& sandwiches and lets not forget the daily choice of two homemade soups! Delicious!.....Staff are attentive and friendly too! Can't wait to try the supper nights, though I hear they are booked up fast!
It's definitely worth a visit if you are in NB!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Had lunch and had to say, service was slick and friendly. But the best soup ever (squash, red pepper and chorizo). Am going to have to try and replicate the recipe but know it won't be as good! :)

Helpful?
Thank annerory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent option for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Visited twice in recent weeks. First visit was for dinner, for four. Soup and crayfish salad as starters were excellent and chicken main was first-class. Lovely desserts and a good choice of reasonably-priced wine. Meal enjoyed in a nice, relaxed atmosphere. All in all, a great experience. Visited the following week for a light lunch. Again, great food and drink and attentive service. One of the better options in North Berwick. We will certainly return and in particular look forward to a return for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NB-Traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

JP's Deli gave us a warm welcome on arrival and whilst we had to wait a little for our order we were advised of this as the chef was very busy with other orders which was understandable as the cafe was packed.(mothers day) When our food arrived I must say it was lovely and presented beautifully. There is a nice selection of produce available in the deli shop and fresh counter to take away.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JP's Deli & Cafe also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to JP's Deli & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing