We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of The Folly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Folly
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I stayed at The Folly Hotel, a converted former fire-station, but was rather fearful because of some earlier adverse reports. I thought I had better straighten the record. I found the owners unobtrusive but responsive, the rooms were clean and well-presented, all services worked well - good lighting, efficient en-suite facilities, no phone or refrigerator. My bedroom was decorated in in yellow/mustard and purple - a combination that might not be to everyone's taste. Breakfast is freshly prepared to order. The hotel is small, family-run and friendly. It is not meant to rival a chain, does not have a swimming pool or business services for example, you have to accept it on that basis. In my view the personal service outweighs any lack of a corporate feel associated with a chain or larger establishment.

A word about car-parking - none at the hotel, but on-street parking in this quiet relatively crime-free town is available, we used York Road. The station has free parking and is close. I know the owners recommend parking by the golf course, we tried that but as we left the car a stray golf ball shot out out of the sky and dented a car nearby. It's probably unusual but did put us off so we moved not wanting to discover a smashed windscreen!

We would recommend The Folly.

Tony Luxton

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for The Folly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

Found this place via Google and their website. Booked over the phone. B&B all seemed to be full in North Berwick at the time so we booked for two nights here. On arrival it had been raining all day and was advised that we would have to park across the road at the golf club. Due to parking and loading restrictions not even possible to load/unload outside the place.
Booked in and showed to our room. Very disappointed. The upstairs landing had a strange smell of stale cooking permeating around, although this did not extend to our room.
The state of the room can only be described as dirty and poorly maintained. Although it appears to have been vacuumed there was a lot of dust and hair around the edges of the carpet in both the room and en-suite. The bed was uncomfortable, pillow cases were ripped. Central heating radiators working early evening but after getting back cold and wet from a night around town these were not working, nor the next morning at 7am when we woke up. Bathroom extractor fan not working and dripped water onto carpet continuously. Toilet seat very loose and ready to fall apart. Mould in shower cubicle.
The hotel has a bistro restaurant downstairs. We never saw anybody else there in the evening or the morning. Due to the poor hygiene of the room we decided to avoid eating there and declined the inclusive breakfast as we were wary the kitchen facilities may have been in a similar state.
We decided to check out after one night and found the receptionist to be most unhelpful and more concerned that she had had to turn down bookings rather than apologising for our unhappy experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nickbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

As a travel agent myself it was great to stay in this hotel just down the road from the train station and over the road from the golf course its was well priced at £80 a night only being a small property six or 8 rooms I think you get a real home feeling there and well looked after! Amazing couple running this hotel with a lovely daughter who really made an effort to look after me thanks again Nic x

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seanc22uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Friendly hotel with fab staff.

Really clean and comfortable, a perfect base for exploring!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rita_Z_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

I booked my stay at this hotel whilst visiting Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival. The price very reasonable compared to other hotels in Edinburgh and the surrounding areas that i had enquired about. The location was good (only 5mins walk to train station for short commute into Edinburgh) and the surroundings of North Berwick itself were beautiful. The staff at the hotel were very informative and friendly and this contributed greatly to my overall experience of the hotel. The rooms were of good standard and quiet in the evenings (no noise from adjacent rooms which was great). I would definately reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a short break in East Lothian with an easy commute to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The hotel was expensive and very basic. There were stuffed toys and clowns hanging from every nook and cranny and the rooms were awful

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
6.2 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
357 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Folly

Address: 1 Station Hill | North Berwick, North Berwick EH39 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: £128 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Folly 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former fire station built in 1912 and converted in 2000 to six en-suite bedrooms and bistro. Situated opposite the eighteenth green of the West Links and the beach. Adult only policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folly North Berwick
The Folly North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing