We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for our golf trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for our golf trip”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Ten of us stayed here for 3 nights as part of our annual golf society trip. Great place with nice rooms and a very powerful shower. Breakfasts were excellent and lots of traditional scottish options were available. It is very centrally located and within easy walking of many pubs and restaurants. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Only reason for the loss of star is that I think its perhaps slightly overpriced.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs ask for room on first floor as no lift. Church bells ring on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    75
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
95
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Good to see a place with single rooms. Very clean with well equipped rooms. Breakfast was excellent with great choice. It is a bed and breakfast and not a hotel so I think it is expensive if you pay the full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairolass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
716 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We popped into No. 12 when on a day trip to North Berwick and enjoyed a most scrumptious mug of coffee whilst we read the papers.

The Cafe Bar is a bistro type place that clearly doubles up as a restaurant for residents and non residents on an evening. It was late morning when we stopped by and there was a good sized menu available for food if required.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We booked through late rooms and got a double/twin room for £70 for one night (the usual rate is £110 which I think is way too expensive). Its right on the main street and a 2 minute walk to the beach. Although the room was of a good standard it could have benefited from an upgrade. Comfy big bed and power shower was a bonus. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The only criticism would be in relation to the lack of warmth from the manager. For instance, on leaving the hotel in the early evening for a meal we passed by the manager and he completely ignored us. This happened on more than one ocassion. It would have been curteous for him to have at least acknowledged us or have wished us a pleasant evening on our way out. We would definately stay at the hotel again but would not pay the full amount.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilton58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My dog Sasha and I were made very welcome.We had a lovely single ensuite room facing the street it was quiet with little or no passing traffic.The room was fresh and clean.We stayed for three nights over hogmanay.The hotel is well situated and there are excellent door step dog walking opportunities to the beachfront and nearby lodge gardens.If you are willing to be flexible and come at the begining of breakfast service the staff may let you bring your dog into the dining room.However I suggest you ask first and play it by ear.During the day the dining room acts as a bistro cafe we did not use it at these times only for breakfast which was delicious and well cooked .Sausages and bacon sourced from local quality butcher Anderson's .We visited sister hotel Nether Abbey Hotel in Dirleton Avenue and were made very welcome in the bar and enjoyed a relaxing and enjoyable evening at Hogmanay .I would be happy to make a return visit I consider the £55.0 rate per night very good value.I think the hotel is best suited to couples ,golfers possibly not for families with very young children

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We were lucky to catch the end of the lunch hour. We had drinks, then Cullen Skink soup.
The hotel was very old fashioned and in need of a facelift. However, the welcome was warm enough, and the soup delicious. The dining room was large, with high ceiling, obviously grand in its day. Staff prompt and courteous.

Room Tip: we were only here for a light lunch and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

No12 is located at the end of the high street and just minutes walk from the harbour meaning that just about everything in North Berwick is within walking distance.

The rooms are very comfortable and varied. I had a small but cosy and practical room on the second floor. Other rooms were much more spacious with room for sofas. The place was clean and tidy, and I slept extremely well. There are a lot of stairs up to the second floor which may be a problem for some.

Breakfast here was fantastic. I enjoyed the Poached Haddock with Poached Egg on my first day, and the Full Scottish breakfast on the second. Both were sensational. There is a lovely Italian restaurant next door called Zitto which I would also recommend.

Overall I would recommend No.12 to anyone looking for a value for money stay on North Berwick.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jd-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
6.6 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
347 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 12 Quality Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 12 Quality Street B&B

Property: No. 12 Quality Street B&B
Address: 12 Quality Street, North Berwick EH39 4HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — No. 12 Quality Street B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 12 Quality Street B&B is bed and breakfast accommodation with a unique, homely, hotel experience and a recently refurbished bistro style restaurant- Signals Bistro. Our bedrooms and en suites have been refurbished in 2015. Family owned and operated we welcome individuals, groups and families to No. 12 Quality Street where personal service and attention to detail is our number one priority. No. 12 Is situated in the heart of North Berwick, just a stone's throw from some of the town's many attractions, and just 20 miles from Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your No. 12 Quality Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 12 Quality Street Hotel North Berwick
No. 12 Quality Street B&B North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing