We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Rib Trip! Nice family area!”

Scottish Seabird Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy great days out at the seaside with the five star Scottish Seabird Centre, North Berwick. In the Discovery Centre control the interactive live cameras to zoom in on the amazing local wildlife on the Firth of Forth islands including puffins, gannets and seals. The Bass Rock is the world’s largest Northern gannet colony and BBC Countryfile Magazine’s Nature Reserve of the Year and the Isle of May is the biggest puffin colony on the east coast of Britain. There’s different wildlife to see throughout the year and at different stages of the breeding season. Visitors can enjoy expert talks, 3D TV, fish tanks, Flyway Tunnel, Wildlife Theatre, Turtle and Ray Zone and a Scope Deck. There is also a Gift Shop, the Seabird Cafe which has East Lothian’s only seaside sundeck, plus a range of seasonal boat trips. The Scottish Seabird Centre is open all year – only closed on Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Rib Trip! Nice family area!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I am in love with North Berwick! What a great town! The Seabird center is wonderful! Located in the harbor! Next to a great beach! Great views! Nice cafe! Good bathrooms! Friendly staff! Awesome gift shop! Our RIB trip to Bass Rock was incredible! Fun! Fun! Fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyc270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Tracy

Thank you for this wonderful review! Brilliant to see that you had such a lovely time and that you had so much fun.

We hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in Scotland.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    196
    56
    25
    20
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“North Berwick”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I found North Berwick on my way to Concorde at East Fortune,it was where I changed buses and decided this is definately a rather special place.The beaches are amazing lots of sand and rocks at low tide to walk on and of course The Seabird Centre where you can look at Bass Rock as you drink and eat what you want.I always feed the Crows and Gulls on the sand and enjoy every minute there.I visit twice a year and have done for many years.A half hour train ride from Edinburgh you must go a really special place.I have walked around the cliffs by the Golf Course and there are many coves all very beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Linda

Thank you for this lovely review - fantastic to see that you enjoyed your time in North Berwick and at the Seabird Centre. You correctly say, it is a special place!

We hope to see you at the Centre again.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Must DO”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having visited the Scottish Seabird Centre on numerous occasions I thought I'd let others know how much we've enjoyed it over the years. Down stairs is where most of the action is in the Discovery Centre. There is a short film about the local seabirds, interactive cameras where you can get up close to the various birds on the Firth of Forth Islands - the puffins are not to be missed - and a Kid's Zone. It is perhaps geared more towards children but adults to can benefit from the knowledgeable staff and of course families can go out on their boat to the Bass Rock, which is home to 50,000 breeding pairs of gannets. Be warned - it's noisy! On your return the next stop would be the cafe which fairly recently was expanded to cater for the many visitors. The shop at the Centre sells all sorts, from books on seabirds and Scotland to placemats, mugs and keyrings as well as an array of beautiful soft toys. When we go to North Berwick we never miss going to the Seabird Centre and I'd highly recommend a visit. The Cafe and gift shop are free. My advice would be to buy the family ticket (2 adults and 2 children) as it works out cheaper though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Valerie

Thank you for this amazing review and recommendation! Brilliant to see that you enjoy all aspects of the Centre - the Discovery Centre, Gift Shop, Seabird Cafe and our boat trips.

With around 150,000 gannets at the peak of the season on the Bass Rock it is indeed noisy - but that is one of the things that makes it so wonderful.

We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bird Wildlife”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Every year we visit this centre at least once. At this time we watched the Gannets and puffins mainly as they were sitting on eggs. On the webcams we watched the very first gannet egg ( that the staff knew of ) hatch out. We also listened to a talk about Puffins and their burrows nesting on the near by islands. Other birds too could be seen.
Boat trips are available for those who wish to go to the Bass Rock where thousands of gannets can be watched diving and nesting.
Children are catered for with activities and drawing etc. Short wildlife films are also available

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAHS891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi there

Thanks for this four star review - excellent to hear from repeat visitors. It's great to see that you made the most of your time in the Discovery Centre and that you enjoyed the talks - at such an important time of the season too.

We will look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited the centre and took a boat trip to craigleith and bass rock. We where lucky and saw lots of Puffins, gannets two baby seals (I think last years cubs) and two adult seals. We where also blessed with seeing three dolphins who spent ages swimming and jumping around up. Loved the webcams in the centre and watching the birds up close. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. Wish we lived closer (come from London) I would do the boat trip daily.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Helen

Thank you so much for this amazing review - and fantastic to hear that you saw dolphins!

Great to see that you made the most of your visit with time on a boat and in the Discovery Centre, and that you saw lots of amazing wildlife using the interactive live cameras.

We hope that you visit us again next time you are up from London.

All the best
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Seabird Centre also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
Dirleton, North Berwick
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Scottish Seabird Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing