We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Seafari boat trip”

Scottish Seabird Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy great days out at the seaside with the five star Scottish Seabird Centre, North Berwick. In the Discovery Centre control the interactive live cameras to zoom in on the amazing local wildlife on the Firth of Forth islands including puffins, gannets and seals. The Bass Rock is the world’s largest Northern gannet colony and BBC Countryfile Magazine’s Nature Reserve of the Year and the Isle of May is the biggest puffin colony on the east coast of Britain. There’s different wildlife to see throughout the year and at different stages of the breeding season. Visitors can enjoy expert talks, 3D TV, fish tanks, Flyway Tunnel, Wildlife Theatre, Turtle and Ray Zone and a Scope Deck. There is also a Gift Shop, the Seabird Cafe which has East Lothian’s only seaside sundeck, plus a range of seasonal boat trips. The Scottish Seabird Centre is open all year – only closed on Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb Seafari boat trip”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

There was 11 of us booked on the seabird centre RIB boat trip - it takes 12. Unfortunately our 2 young children were under 8 years old so they couldn't come-stayed ashore with granny!!!
Although there is a different boat that takes young children too.
(Recommend that one too!!)
This boat ride was fantastic- I have done it before but this time we had relatives from Australia visiting and it was on our must -do list! They loved it- best activity they'd done!!! We enjoyed seeing all the puffins/seals/gannets and various other sea birds. The guide was excellent in his local knowledge and also his friendliness. Will definitely recommend this trip (to anyone over 8 years old!!!! )
Pop into the discovery centre if you are here for the day- very interesting and great friendly/knowledgable staff/volunteers too.
Cafe is good with nice decking area too.

Helpful?
Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi there

Thanks for this brilliant review!

Fantastic to see that you brought some visitors from Australia out to the Centre and that everyone had such a good time. You correctly state that due to safety under 8s aren't permitted on the Seabird Seafari Bass, but they are very welcome on the Seabird Cruise!

Your feedback will be passed on to the boat and Discovery Centre teams.
We hope to see you at the Centre again.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    197
    56
    25
    20
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Parties”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were at the Scottish Seabird Centre for a birthday party - it was absolutely fantastic! the centre organised EVERYTHING- all I needed to do was bring a cake. the kids were entertained brilliantly for 2 hours, including a generous lunchbox each and well-stocked party bags (albeit, a few random gifts). The party was booked for an early time in the morning, meaning that when the kids were running around the exploration centre, they had the centre to themselves. Professor Egghead's science show is brilliant, and tailored for the age group. The kids had a brilliant time and we were very happy with a good value for money and easy birthday party.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi there

Thanks for our first ever review of our birthday parties!

Fantastic to see that everyone had such fun and that you enjoyed time in the Discovery Centre and with Professor Egghead.

A very happy birthday to your little one.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafari Cruise”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went on the catamaran cruise to the islands of Craigleith and Base Rock and had an amazing experience. The steady boat went very close to the rocks, while the friendly guide told us little stories about the various birds and the islands they inhabit. The star attraction of the day were, of course, the puffins, while the biggest surprise were the seals bathing in one of the little island bays, surrounded by the the noisy and beautiful gannets. A wonderful day out with the family, highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MHV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi there

Thanks so much for this brilliant review of the Seabird Cruise. Great to see that you had an amazing trip out to Craigleith and the Bass Rock, and you got to see some fantastic local wildlife. Your feedback will be passed on to the boat team.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Scotland.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Centre and May”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

booked a photography trip to Isle of May. the weather was fantastic and I would recommend the early start as we were the only trip on the island, so that was us (12 + the guide) and thousands of willing wildlife to watch. Visit the seabird centre first to see the live action cameras and see what the islands have in store.
Like to thank Rachael for all the help with my on line booking. Plan to go again next year!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Chris

Thanks for this brilliant five star review. You visited the Isle of May at a wonderful time of year and fantastic to read that you saw the benefits of going on a boat trip and using the interactive live cameras in the Discovery Centre, to see the Firth of Forth wildlife.

Your comments have been passed onto Rachel.

We will look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we stopped here for lunch the food was great and the coffee even better in fact I had 2 cups
it was nice and clean and staff were pleasant.
I wanted to go to the sea bird discovery area but it was far to expensive for us.
it had an excellent gift shop and the toilet facilities were extremely clean and tidy

no fee for eating

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank andreasphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi there

Thanks for this great four star review for the Seabird Cafe and our Gift Shop - brilliant to see that you enjoyed the coffee so much you had two cups!

Your lovely feedback will be passed onto the teams.

Kind regards
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Seabird Centre also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
Dirleton, North Berwick
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Scottish Seabird Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing