We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out!”

Scottish Seabird Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy great days out at the seaside with the five star Scottish Seabird Centre, North Berwick. In the Discovery Centre control the interactive live cameras to zoom in on the amazing local wildlife on the Firth of Forth islands including puffins, gannets and seals. The Bass Rock is the world’s largest Northern gannet colony and BBC Countryfile Magazine’s Nature Reserve of the Year and the Isle of May is the biggest puffin colony on the east coast of Britain. There’s different wildlife to see throughout the year and at different stages of the breeding season. Visitors can enjoy expert talks, 3D TV, fish tanks, Flyway Tunnel, Wildlife Theatre, Turtle and Ray Zone and a Scope Deck. There is also a Gift Shop, the Seabird Cafe which has East Lothian’s only seaside sundeck, plus a range of seasonal boat trips. The Scottish Seabird Centre is open all year – only closed on Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Group of 6 adults came here while on holiday in North Berwick. Great entertainment from start until finish. Knowledgable and friendly staff, excellent displays and information on the vast birds and sea life's round the area and a lovely lunch to top it all off in a busy and efficiently run cafe. A must visit for any visitors to the area or close by.

Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Chris

Thanks for this great review and recommendation.

Excellent to see that you all enjoyed your visit - your feedback will be passed on to the team.

Hope you had a great time in North Berwick and that you come back to the area again.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 84 reviews
"live cameras"
in 36 reviews
"bass rock"
in 243 reviews
"rib boat"
in 14 reviews
"gift shop"
in 37 reviews
"nearby islands"
in 8 reviews
"watch the birds"
in 9 reviews
"sea life"
in 9 reviews
"rib trip"
in 8 reviews
"great cafe"
in 12 reviews
"sit outside"
in 13 reviews
"bird life"
in 14 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 41 reviews
"bird watchers"
in 8 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 20 reviews
"cakes"
in 25 reviews
"sea bird centre"
in 9 reviews
Filter

477 - 481 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The building is surrounded by varied and attractive artwork and sculptures and has funfair rides for little ones just beside it. It is laid out to allow free access to the gift shop and cafe and paying allows access to unusual and informative displays and the many real time camera feeds from the island bird sanctuaries offshore. There are also excellent quality telescopes on a viewing deck, two of which are designed to let children have a look too. The cafe has a wide choice of food and drink available and has a large outside seating deck affording great views over Milsey Bay when the weather allows. The gift shop is stocked with quality Scottish mementos including local craft and food items as well as pocket money items. Every member of staff we encountered was helpful, well informed and easy to find. There are also boat trips to and around the islands.

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Laura

This is a brilliant review - thanks so much for taking the time to write this.

Great to see that you made the most of your visit and that you all had such fun.
Your feedback will be passed on to the team.

We hope that you visit us again.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our pre booked RIB safari was cancelled due to lack of staff, 2hrs drive each way and costs of petrol aside I'm pretty annoyed that no attempt was made to contact any of the people booked on the trip at any time.
I'm sure the trip would have been good but I won't be taking the risk again of wasting a precious day off and the accociated costs involved.

Thank Dohbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi there

Thanks for getting in touch with your feedback.

I have spoken with the team and it is my understanding that the boat was rescheduled to a later time, rather than cancelled. This was due to the tides and unfortunately because of sea conditions it is sometimes necessary to change the timings of trips. The safety of passengers is our priority.

Passengers are contacted wherever possible when there is a change scheduled trips.

We would like to apologise for the experience that you had and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail. Please feel free to get in touch: marketing@seabird.org

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I felt this attraction was a little expensive for what you got for your money. Older children may get more from it than younger ones. Lots of money has been spent on the technology to view the birds and the money spent is well used for their safety and well being. the cafe is good and gives good views. the gifts are not overly expensive.

Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Michele

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and visit the Seabird Centre.

We aim to cater for all ages and for little ones we have soft play, colouring-in and puzzles, plus our Kids' Corner where there are books and toys for younger children.

Great to see that you made the most of your visit, with time in the Discovery Centre, Seabird Cafe and the Gift Shop. Once you have paid your admission, you can come and go as you please all day long!

We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

There was 11 of us booked on the seabird centre RIB boat trip - it takes 12. Unfortunately our 2 young children were under 8 years old so they couldn't come-stayed ashore with granny!!!
Although there is a different boat that takes young children too.
(Recommend that one too!!)
This boat ride was fantastic- I have done it before but this time we had relatives from Australia visiting and it was on our must -do list! They loved it- best activity they'd done!!! We enjoyed seeing all the puffins/seals/gannets and various other sea birds. The guide was excellent in his local knowledge and also his friendliness. Will definitely recommend this trip (to anyone over 8 years old!!!! )
Pop into the discovery centre if you are here for the day- very interesting and great friendly/knowledgable staff/volunteers too.
Cafe is good with nice decking area too.

Thank Rowaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi there

Thanks for this brilliant review!

Fantastic to see that you brought some visitors from Australia out to the Centre and that everyone had such a good time. You correctly state that due to safety under 8s aren't permitted on the Seabird Seafari Bass, but they are very welcome on the Seabird Cruise!

Your feedback will be passed on to the boat and Discovery Centre teams.
We hope to see you at the Centre again.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Seabird Centre also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
Dirleton, North Berwick
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Scottish Seabird Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing