We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill”

Scottish Seabird Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy great days out at the seaside with the five star Scottish Seabird Centre, North Berwick. In the Discovery Centre control the interactive live cameras to zoom in on the amazing local wildlife on the Firth of Forth islands including puffins, gannets and seals. The Bass Rock is the world’s largest Northern gannet colony and BBC Countryfile Magazine’s Nature Reserve of the Year and the Isle of May is the biggest puffin colony on the east coast of Britain. There’s different wildlife to see throughout the year and at different stages of the breeding season. Visitors can enjoy expert talks, 3D TV, fish tanks, Flyway Tunnel, Wildlife Theatre, Turtle and Ray Zone and a Scope Deck. There is also a Gift Shop, the Seabird Cafe which has East Lothian’s only seaside sundeck, plus a range of seasonal boat trips. The Scottish Seabird Centre is open all year – only closed on Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Love the Seabird Centre. Always something different to see. Seeing the gannets on Bass Rock through the telescopes and cameras is great. The staff are superb, and the cafe is good too

Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Diane

Thanks for this excellent review! Great to see that you enjoyed your visit to the Discovery Centre and the Seabird Cafe. Your lovely comments have been passed on to our staff.

Hope to see you at the Seabird Centre again if you are back in the area.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 84 reviews
"live cameras"
in 38 reviews
"bass rock"
in 248 reviews
"rib boat"
in 14 reviews
"seal pups"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 36 reviews
"watch the birds"
in 9 reviews
"sea life"
in 9 reviews
"great cafe"
in 12 reviews
"nearby islands"
in 8 reviews
"sit outside"
in 13 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 42 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 21 reviews
"cakes"
in 27 reviews
"sea bird centre"
in 10 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 12 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 9 reviews
Filter

481 - 485 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stopped here with the family and enjoyed lattes, cappuccinos and hot chocolates. All lovely and hot

Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Susan

Thank you for this lovely review of the Seabird Cafe - delighted that you enjoyed your coffees and hot chocolate! Your feedback has been passed onto the Cafe team.

All the best
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a spree voucher for this and the kids love all animals so we decided to give it a go. There is a lot of publicity for this centre in the surrounding area which gives the false impression that there is more going one than there actually is. I found the walk to the reception desk a bit of an effort. They have over filled the gift shop and it makes it difficult to get from one part to another. There were a number of wheelchair users and they would (rightfully) block a whole isle and they felt under pressure to move on before they were ready. I was put off buying anything due to the effort involved in browsing
When we did manage to negotiate our passage to the reception the desk the staff were lovely, polite and efficient. There were, however, only one or two rooms to look round and some of the live film of gannets and gulls was fascinating. The rest was a bit tired and directed towards toddlers and I felt you could look round the whole thing in less than 30 minutes. I think the price needs to drop and if you really like sea birds then a boat trip past the Bass Rock would be best.

After reading some of the other reviews we now realise that there was a sea safari that we could have gone on from the centre. It would have been nice to know about this! Also we wandered around for quite a bit and saw no obvious sign of entry to this element.

Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Joanna

Thanks for visiting the Centre and for taking the time to write this review.

Great feedback on our staff and the interactive live cameras - thank you for that.

From your description of the Centre, it may have been that you perhaps didn't visit all areas. In addition to the cameras and the Wildlife Theatre, there is also the Flyway Tunnel, which leads to the Turtle & Ray Zone, the Kids' Corner and the Boat Trip Booking Office (and the Harbour). We also have interactive science shows on throughout the summer.

There is signage for the boat trips on arrival at the Centre, trailers on screens throughout the Centre and leaflets at various distribution/ information points - sorry if you didn't spot these. There is also information about the range of trips that we offer on our website as we recommend booking these online and in advance wherever possible.

All of the feedback you have given has been very helpful and has been passed on to the team.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A really interesting and well thought out place of information. There's a good cafe there and we sat on the small terrace overlooking the harbour enjoying coffee and scones. North Berwick has the most amazing coastline with wonderful views.

Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Liz

Thank you for this lovely review - brilliant to see you enjoyed your visit to the Seabird Centre and North Berwick. The coastline is indeed beautiful!

Lovely photos of the harbour and our seaside sun deck - thank you for sharing these.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the Scottish seabird centre following a advertisement in a edinburgh free map and local attractions- wasn't quite what I expected however wasn't disappointed with the super friendly and well knowledgeable staff and interesting facts surrounding the seabirds and animals from the coast of North Berwick and Scotland as a whole! Found that Scotland lacks with the amount of signposts, however that is just an opinion on Scotland as a whole.
Well worth a visit for families with young children, especially as there are pufflings to see at the moment! Has a gift shop and café- but seriously couldn't fault the kindness, politeness and knowledge the staff have!
Highly recommend!

1  Thank rushtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puffin2000, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Seabird Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi there

Thank you for this fantastic, five star review! Brilliant to see that you enjoyed your visit and our team ensured you had the best experience possible - your feedback has been passed on to them.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Scotland.

Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Seabird Centre also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Scottish Seabird Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing