We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dernwood Farm
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Heathfield
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Stone House(Heathfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Forge(Halland)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buxted Park Hotel(Uckfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
61
18
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
18
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild campingsafari tentbell tentcar parkcamp fireminute walkopen firehot tubrope swingtoilet blockwood burnercabin bedflushing toiletschildren agedamazing safarikids loveancient woodland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely family run site. I would really recommend it to anyone looking for something that isn't a big commercial site. It's real camping with a gorgeous walk through the woods to the camping fields. You can have a campfire too which is great. Beautiful woodlands to walk around and build dens in.

Run by a lovely family - who were nice enough to tow us out of the carpark when our van got stuck! The shop is great too... you have to try the sausage rolls!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amber_cassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Arrive, to a very basic, but well stocked shop. Loved the fact that there are two options (wheel barrow or trolley) to get your gear to the site. We did the wild camping in the open field. The space was great, never felt like it was crowded. Sitting around the open fire, cooking and relaxing is wonderful.

There is a set of loo’s and drinking water point at one end of the field, the loo’s are clean however this is still nature and you will find some baby spider webs in the structure.

Catering, we pre-ordered food, headed it up over the open fire and it was lovely and the portions was good. Will recommend the main meals!

Other tents on the site: if you don’t want to take your own tent, you can book into their safari or bell tents, they looked cosy had all you needed for a basic camping weekend, including a wood burner inside!

Room Tip: Tips, it its wet weather, prep by keeping your hiking boots or willies at hand when you arrive on site. The path to the sites are clear, however there are some puddles and mud patches. Take your own loo paper. Pre-order a meal for a lazy dinner around the camp fire. It will be worth it after you have been out exploring the surroundings. If your partner’s not keen on the lack of shower blocks, go to the leisure centre (5miles or so away) for a shower, swim and sauna to recover from the previous days hike. It will make you feel brand new.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked in for a three night stay using their very good website, had a friendly and helpful greeting and the shop even though small packed enough basics to make me smile, the farm produce is frozen so ensure you take time to allow it to defrost, it's worth the wait, great produce. Everyone seems to moan about he walk to the site, yes it's a pain but sort of fun, took me 4 hours to set up and I was knack erred, and already dreading the return trip, but once set up I was happy, very nice setting basic flush toilets and mains water on tap, woods were great to explore and clearly lots of children have had a lot of fun their. I had a young dog a five and an almost two year old with my partner, we thought the kids would love it but clearly hey we're to young to appreciate the site and were more mischief than happily playing, after two days we had enough and packed up and went home. Shame really at that age I would have been in my element on this site, i I fear that we will have to continue our stays on the multi function/entertainment sites that i hate to keep the kids happy. However we will be back when they are a littl older, great site plenty of room, good shop and well priced, the trip to the site? Make of it what you will i took to much stuff so I paid the price, will only pack one pair of pants next time!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heavynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We have just had a little family mini break to Dernwood Farm!
We were greeted by the lovely family who took care of everything we needed at the bat of an eye. Very warm, friendly and approachable.
A truly beautiful setting and we wish we could have stayed longer.
Our children are 9+13 and had a great time barrowing our gear down to the bell tent. It was hard work...for a whole ten minutes, but still very manageable as the weather was dry during the daytime. We really enjoyed the lack of traffic congestion and noise that it brings. Tranquillity!
We would definitely recommend the steak from the farm shop, a magnificent flavour!
Highly recommended. You must try it. Don't be put off if your children are smaller. Ask for help when you get there if you think you would really find it too much, because once you are set up on the site you will have a brilliant time!! Had I known about it before I would have brought my children from a small age. TRY IT!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed in the Oak tent for 3 nights, wished we had booked more. Lovely setting wandering around the the woods. Stayed with a 5 yr old and 1 yr old and managed the walk from the car park with the buggy ( bit bumby but manageable). Sun shone on the camping field and bell tents all day. Cooked meat from the farm shop (frozen so buy in the morning to defrost by evening) cant wait to go again. The walk to from the car and to the toilet and tap areas is all part of the fun of camping for us. See you soon dernwood farm

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews