We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly sophisticated food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Cups Inn

Three Cups Inn
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Heathfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a 16th Century Pub full of traditional charm and features such as an inglenook fireplace, original beams and the original wishing well. It is called the Three Cups Inn due to the three local rivers meeting underground underneath the pub. The chef uses local produce to create mouthwatering meals, with attention to detail, each dish is produced using his artistic flair, pleasing to both eye and palate. The food is tasty and affordable. The Three Cups Inn is a great mix of diners, drinkers, family and friends. It has gardens to the front and rear, the front garden boasts a children's play area with climbing frame, slide, tunnel etc... The gardens are up kept and floral all year round. Baby change facilities and highchairs are available.
Uckfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly sophisticated food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The 3 cups pub, just East of Heathfield is pretty basic at first sight, and the menu reads well but is a laminated card which seems to be a permanent one. We had 3 extraordinarily tasty main dishes on a wet bank holiday Monday. Prices were very reasonable. I hope in the winter the open fire is lit. Low beams and wooden floor - done up last probably 15 years ago, but the chef was ACE!
Halloumi with asparagus and a pea puree... Lamb Wellington with mint wound round delicious shank of lamb, with a rich jus.... prawn risotto with grilled seabass on top. Fantastic, with 3 glasses of wine and a coffee for £52 the lot.
Brilliant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food and service always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Eaten here on many occasions and never been disappointed. Good food imaginatively cooked with fresh ingredients.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Egonronay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Group of friends had lunch for birthday celebration. Excellent food and service. Several of us have been back since and will definitely return again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggiemay406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ladies night-excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I visited the Three Cups Inn a few weeks ago for ladies night and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The pub has a very cosy feel about it and some very homely touches.
We were a large group and the service was excellent, even during a very busy evening in the restaurant.
The menu has a variety of meals to choose from. I would highly recommend the duck pancake rolls to start, delicious!
Thank you to all staff for making it such a great evening. We already have another ladies night planned!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smatty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ladies Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I had a lovely evening at the Three Cups with my girlie friends! The evening was topped off by the amazing food, fantastic service and half price dinner!! We have already booked to return as a group!
Even had baby changing facilities- knowing this I can take the family sometime soon!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Cups Inn also viewed

Warbleton, Heathfield
Heathfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Three Cups Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing