We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Gaverne Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$182
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
US$147
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
US$202
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$219
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$237
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
268
151
78
51
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
151
78
51
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdoc martinthe pubnespresso machinemusselscharming hotelshort walksky tvfor sunday lunchsteep hillpuddingnorth cornwallstayed one nightcornish breakfastcouple of nightscar parkbiscuitssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed with friends over the bank holiday and had a lovely time. If you visit the hotel remembering how original and old it is then you will appreciate your stay. Yes its a narrow steep climb up the stairs to the rooms through the small and often crowded inside area but its worth it for the friendly atmosphere. Rooms are adequate and the room we stayed in, number 5, had a lovely feature of opening onto the balcony where you can sit and enjoy the view. Other guests have access to the same balcony via a separate doorway. We only ate the one night and it was a bar menu which was lovely. Yes there is a restaurant with its own menu but the prices go up. Having walked the short ten minute walk into Port Isaac the price of meals in the bars and restaurants are much the same. Would we recommend the hotel....definately. Would we stay again......definately.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

We are so pleased that you had a good time with us and recognize the hotel for what it is.
We do try to please everyone but are only to aware that everyone has different needs and expectations.
Do please come back and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Chilly, near wordless "welcome" from elderly receptionist.Struggled up almost vertical staircase with our suitcase (no help offered) Room good size,well apppointed,clean but cold .Bathroom even chillier with slate floor, light over sink not working for entire stay. Shower flooded bathroom and soaked part of the bedroom carpet, never used again, This bathroom so cold it was a thought to wash in it and we could hear every activity in next door's bathroom through paper thin partition walls. Had to find breakfast room by ourselves,standard fare,waiting staff not very welcoming apart from a few young ones.Horrified to witness an Australian family being ticked off in no uncertain fashion for daring to sit at a "dining" table set with wineglasses etc although most of the "breakfast" tables were already full .Discovered rooms are cleaned as soon as you sit down to breakfast, just as well we were tidy! Never had dinner as the menu was pretentious and did not seem to reflect local produce advertised throughout the county, e.g., new potatoes, strawberries and asparagus. Tried once to get bar meal (menu looked good) but too busy, we found people eating, squashed into the tiny receptioni area,while the restaurant seemed empty most nights.
Overpriced for the level of service and accomodation, paying for the scenery. Would not stay again and does not deserve to be in Good Pub Guide.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

So sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our hotel. If guests have a problem or query whilst they are staying in a hotel it is always best to ask for advice or help from a member of staff rather than waiting until you get home. Hopefully then we can make your stay more comfortable.
Many of our guests return time after time and enjoy our food and service, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We quite often pop in here for lunch. Good prices and the bar staff are so friendly. Chap today even gave my friend's dog a dog treat. Food fantasic - can't fault anything and a good choice of wines too. We don't live too far from here (Fowey) but are so tempted to come and stay for a night or two. You must come here!! Lunch today could not have been better - we all felt so welcome (even the small furry one of our party!)

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
Thank GarfieInFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thankyou so much for the great review, we are so pleased that you had a good lunch and were looked after well.
Please spread the word as we really do try to maintain this standard.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We regularly stay in Polzeath where sadly, our local pub/restaurant is closed for a year for major building works. We wanted to eat out so decided to give the restaurant at the Port Gaverne Hotel a try. It was a very quick drive to Port Gaverne, easy parking, great pub with lots of real ales. Dinner for 7 was in the hotel restaurant. It was nice that we could choose from the bar menu as well as the restaurant menu. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals then back in the pub for a last drink, where lots of good whiskeys were on offer. Excellent service, friendly staff, great food and beers - we will definitely go back soon. Thank you to all the staff for making our friend's birthday meal so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarolGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thanksyou so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you all enjoyed yourselves.
Do come back and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Booked to stay two nights in March. Asked to pay £50 deposit to secure booking - did so by credit card. Booked out this morning, looks like same person on desk - not a word spoken, whole transaction completed in silence. Checked invoice this evening with earlier booking confirmation, discovered the deposit had not been registered on the account, so we over-paid £50. Phoned hotel to check how this could have happened - told that it 'does not happen that often'. My hunch is that you should check everything - the systems don't seem to talk to one another (let alone the people!).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pniel1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We are grateful for your comments about the receptionists attitude.
My apologies for the confusion about the deposit, it honestly does'nt happen often. We have looked at the system that we use and are currently modifying it - so thank you for in heads up.
We do hope that you will come and stay again and that you had a good time while you were in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews