We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Gaverne Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Old School Hotel(Port Isaac)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daymer House(Trebetherick)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
269
151
78
51
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
151
78
51
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdoc martinthe pubnespresso machinemusselscharming hotelshort walksky tvfor sunday lunchsteep hillpuddingnorth cornwallstayed one nightcornish breakfastcouple of nightscar parkbiscuitssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We spent two evenings dining at the Port Gaverne Hotel whilst staying in Port Isaac. On both occasions we had lovely meals the first was a bar snack and the second meal taken in the hotel's restaurant. Both quite different , plenty of lively chatter in the bar which gets very busy and quieter in the restaurant. On both occasions we had friendly excellent service and good food. Great evenings in a wonderful location. Look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarneyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

What a lovely review - thank you so much. We are really pleased that you enjoyed both the restaurant food and the bar food and also that you would come back!
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This hotel was in a great place a stoens throw from the sea had beautiful views and walks.
The rooms were great, large and airy very nicely decorated . Quality bed linen and towels. Definately go back

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scruffydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and loved the location. Do please tell your friends about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We have been visiting this hotel for the last 30 years - we just had lunch in the bar this time. The food was great - simple but very well prepared and tasting of the sea! A great place - very friendly atmosphere and a pleasure as always.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AandRHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Thank you so much for the lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch. We do try to keep the bar food simple as we have great local ingredients around us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Port Gaverne Hotel is a delightful nook of a hotel on a quiet cove. Yes, the stairs are very steep and narrow - it's a very old building - ancient, in fact. We got a sweet reception at the front desk with an eager staff member that took our luggage up for us and refused to take a tip for his trouble. The hotel is run by a family and the pride they take in this establishment is evident and welcome.

We had a lovely, spotless room on a pristine balcony, a large bathroom and a cozy, clean bedroom with a beautiful view. The pub is the place to eat!! Delicious food and convivial atmosphere. The tables were tiny, the space is small - that's what makes it charming! Locals, dogs, tourists and business people all in the mix. Conversations were struck all over the pub because of the proximity of other dining guests. We had some lovely talks and met some lovely people. Here the staff was excellent, again - they aim to please! We give them very high marks. The dining room was good too, as was breakfast but our favorite spot to eat was the pub.

Private parking was an added plus after spending two nights at a Pt Isaac hotel parking in a metered public lot. The walk to Pt. Isaac is so charming from Port Gaverne - it's worth every round trip step to stay here to visit Pt. Isaac and surrounding Cornwall. We visited Tintagel, Pencarrow, and Pt Isaac. We walked the Cornish hills and sat and watched the birds on the water. We had some lovely meals in and around the region. It was quiet, relaxing and more than we expected!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panigrazyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

We are so pleased that you had a good time staying at Port Gaverne Hotel and that everything was up to standard - you try to come and stay over a Wednesday and enjoy the renowned quiz night!
Seriously though we do appreciate your review and honest comments.
We do hope that you come back and stay with us again soon, Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed with friends over the bank holiday and had a lovely time. If you visit the hotel remembering how original and old it is then you will appreciate your stay. Yes its a narrow steep climb up the stairs to the rooms through the small and often crowded inside area but its worth it for the friendly atmosphere. Rooms are adequate and the room we stayed in, number 5, had a lovely feature of opening onto the balcony where you can sit and enjoy the view. Other guests have access to the same balcony via a separate doorway. We only ate the one night and it was a bar menu which was lovely. Yes there is a restaurant with its own menu but the prices go up. Having walked the short ten minute walk into Port Isaac the price of meals in the bars and restaurants are much the same. Would we recommend the hotel....definately. Would we stay again......definately.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

We are so pleased that you had a good time with us and recognize the hotel for what it is.
We do try to please everyone but are only to aware that everyone has different needs and expectations.
Do please come back and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews