We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice little place this is!”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There was something about the grey day and the state of the awnings out front that had made us think for one second that maybe we had taken cheap and cheerful a little too far - but we were really charmed by this place. I was travelling with friends - a couple with a dog - and each of us had reason for delight. Their room was in the back wing with a sweet little patio plus another deck overlooking the ocean. It was large and very nicely appointed - (they had been squeezed in for the previous three nights in the 'dog room' at another spot) This room seemed to be almost a reward for bringing the dog! My room was small, but absolutely lovely! This place keeps all the best parts of old world pub-hotel charm and updates the rest of it with style and service. Our evening meal with lovely - by the fire (with pets) chatting with other guests. Really good food topped off with some delicious sticky toffee pudding. Breakfast was one of the best of our whole trip- All in all, a great stay. We loved strolling around Port Isaac, a 20 minute walk away. Would love to come back here.

Room Tip: if you want a larger room head for the rear wing in which rooms are newer, but still quite charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Sometimes we are not sure if there are more dogs in the bar than humans! Whilst this may not appeal to everyone, the dogs generally tend to be well behaved……….. thank you for you review, yes, you are right the awning above the door does look a little tired, I will get he who must be obeyed on to it! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely clean small hotel as part of a pub, Friendly staff and swift check in. All rooms upstairs and all have a different design with crisp linen and fluffy towels. Room cost included a hearty cooked breakfast. Food available from restaurant and bar downstairs. Only minor grumble was the car parking was limited and also off site so if you were late back then you will struggle to get parked.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time in Cornwall. Yes, parking can be a bit tricky, for the future, it is always worth asking if we know of any little tucked away spaces! You never know what there might be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We are currently sitting on the residents' balcony enjoying lunch and watching the goings on on the beach.this is our 3rd stay here in 3 years and the hotel, staff and service never fail to disappoint. We popped into Port Isaac this morning and I had my photo taken with a 'Fisherman's Friend' who owns one of the shops in the village, and this afternoon we are going fishing. Everything about the place and it's location is wonderful and we come here to relax and unwind. We have been here at different times of the year and always enjoy what's on offer; yes it is a pub with (excellent) rooms but the atmosphere and friendliness of both staff and locals is what makes this so special for us. We shall continue to come here for as long as we are able to walk up the hill to Port Isaac!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Welcome Back - it was lovely to see you again, if briefly! We hope you had a good time and look forward to seeing you later in the Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Saturday Lunch early April with relatives that live in Cornwall. They had not visited before and we visited "on spec". Neither we nor they were disappointed. The service was friendly and prompt. The menu and our selection included pub classics such as ham eggs and chips, haddock and chips and more "refined" offerings of seared scallops with chorizo and capers. All were very good and reasonably priced. We also thought the beer (Doombar) well kept.

We ate in the bar area, close to the open fire, enjoyed the decor (paintings for sale by local artists and old photos relating to Ports Gaverne and Isaac) and exploring the various small rooms that comprise the hotels ground floor.

We had no problems parking outside, but I can see that in busy periods this might be a problem.

We will all certainly visit Port Gaverne Hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

What a lovely review, you have captured the hotel and our philosophy very neatly! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I had lunch at this delightful hotel which is located within a stone's throw of the beach. Port Gaverne is much smaller and less touristy than it's neighbour, Port Isaac. As it was Mother's Day, the restaurant was busy but the staff were polite and friendly and the service was excellent. There is a slightly old fashioned feel to the restaurant - nothing bland and no chrome or glass - but the food is of a high standard and much is sourced locally. The bar area is full of low beams and stone floors and has real old world charm.I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area and we shall certainly be returning there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Helena-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your very swift review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and also that you enjoyed the old fashioned service. We have taken the approach of ' if it's not broken…..'. I know we were busy so we do appreciate everyones patience. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Myself and four others ate at the restaurant last week (March 2014). Three of our group spoke little English. The owner could not have been more helpful as we were a bit of a fussy lot ! the food was presented beautifully and tasted great and he helped with translations and explanations. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - it always boosts staff morale when we get good reviews. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have lots of good memories to take home with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We've just returned from a two night stay having not been here for over ten years. We weren't disappointed - the inn is very welcoming, the rooms are spacious and very clean and the food superb. The restaurant wasn't open on Thursday evening, which we didn't know about, but the bar food is excellent. Most importantly, it's a truly dog friendly place - dogs welcome everywhere (except the restaurant) not just in a few rooms which normally appears to be the case. Highly recommended and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marietta421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Welcome back! We are so pleased that you have revisited us and enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
0.4 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#2 of 4 in Port Isaac
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
443 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range: £131 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA 5 star, 2 Rosette rated 17th-century Port Gaverne Hotel is nestled in a beautiful secluded cove on North Cornwall’s dramatic coast. Enjoy seasonal, star-quality food inspired by the bounty on our doorstep. Relax in our traditional old bar with slate floors, wooden beams and a wide range of proper ales. Your dishes will be cooked simply and with integrity by Head Chef James Lean and his team, who have learnt their trade under some of the UK’s top Michelin-star chefs. With antique furniture and traditional features, no two bedrooms are the same at Port Gaverne. Facilities include free wifi, Sky TV, Nespresso coffee machines, en-suite bathrooms with a hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. And a hearty full Cornish breakfast is always included in the price. The beautiful, peaceful North Cornwall Heritage Coast is on our doorstep, with the beach just moments away. Port Isaac is a 5-minute walk away, or the large sandy beach at Polzeath is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing