We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Gaverne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wadebridge(Wadebridge)(Great Value!)
US$67
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
272
154
78
51
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
154
78
51
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdoc martinthe pubnespresso machinemusselscharming hotelshort walksky tvfor sunday lunchsteep hillpuddingnorth cornwallstayed one nightcornish breakfastcouple of nightscar parkbiscuitssea view
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for one night a fortnight ago just before it was taken over by St Austell breweries, we had a great meal in the restaurant and breakfast was excellent, the hotel was busy but the staff were all friendly and welcoming both in the hotel and the bar. We returned for lunch during the following week and despite there being some disruption due to the changeover we were very impressed with the food and service. There are bound to be teething troubles but I do hope this lovely pub/hotel isn't changed too much and they retain the character of the building. We look forward to spending a few days over New Year at what is one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rugbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Having been coming every year for 6 years we were disappointed to find this lovely hotel has recently been taken over by a local brewery. We went to the bar on our first evening to enjoy a simple bar meal only to find the menu had been completely changed. No more simple meals but more expensive food suitable for restaurants. This had put many local people and returning guests off coming here. We ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay. We also had to wait 30 minutes for our breakfast to arrive when there were only 2 other couples to be served!!! The bedroom was lovely and the hotel spotlessly clean but will be interesting to see what happens to the changes being made over the next year!!! I hope not too much is done to spoil the character of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the end of April beginning of May, and overall found it very pleasant.
There were one or two little niggles, firstly the car park is not by the hotel but up another lane,this caused problems unloading as outside the reception it is a very narrow space and if you stop you block the road. Saying that we were helped with our luggage so not too bad. The room was clean and bright no complaints there.
The food in the restaurant was very good also the breakfasts, I can only eat small amount and there was no trouble getting the portions cut down. The food in the bar was very ordinary.
My main gripe was the amount of dogs in the bar area, sometimes more than people, I sat on a window seat on which a dog had been earlier (dog on the funiture?) the dog must have had a lovely time on the beach as I got a wet sandy bottom, not good, there was also snarling and yapping and are you supposed to have animals where food is being served (hygiene).
Saying that the staff were lovely especially the mature lady in the restaurant, and the chambermaid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had Sunday lunch last weekend, excellant not just roast on the menu either. Great starter of mussels followed by excellant roast lamb and plenty of it.Plenty of home cooked vegetables. Will be back, but will book in advance

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DevonElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Sunday lunch is such an important meal andy it sounds like you really enjoyed yours. It is worth booking as then you are sure to get a table. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My friend and I have just had a couple of days in Port Isaac. We stayed at the Port Gaverne. It was lovely. The hotel was exceptionally clean, our room was bright and airy, the food was AMAZING and the staff were very friendly. I cannot fault this hotel AT ALL!! we will definitely be returning there without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newflame59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us - spread the word, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews