We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything changes”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything changes”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Been coming here for 40 years. St Austell are only the 3rd owner.
Stayed in March for my 65th when Graham was still in charge. A great weekend. So just a little. Surprised to find new owners this Saturday. Most staff still the same, service and attention to detail just the same as ever. An excellent evening meal and breakfast with absolutely no complaints.
If this is the future and the changes/improvements remain subtle then I shall be returning for years to come. Congratulations to Dave and the team. Best wishes to Graham and Annabelle for what ever they do next .Dave Green 26/05/2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    140
    69
    44
    22
See reviews for
90
283
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The takeover by St Austell Brewery has resulted in a restaurant included in the Good Food Guide and a place where people would return year after year being reduced to a second rate pub disaster. The service is poor and the menu limited.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Agnes678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for one night a fortnight ago just before it was taken over by St Austell breweries, we had a great meal in the restaurant and breakfast was excellent, the hotel was busy but the staff were all friendly and welcoming both in the hotel and the bar. We returned for lunch during the following week and despite there being some disruption due to the changeover we were very impressed with the food and service. There are bound to be teething troubles but I do hope this lovely pub/hotel isn't changed too much and they retain the character of the building. We look forward to spending a few days over New Year at what is one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rugbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Having been coming every year for 6 years we were disappointed to find this lovely hotel has recently been taken over by a local brewery. We went to the bar on our first evening to enjoy a simple bar meal only to find the menu had been completely changed. No more simple meals but more expensive food suitable for restaurants. This had put many local people and returning guests off coming here. We ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay. We also had to wait 30 minutes for our breakfast to arrive when there were only 2 other couples to be served!!! The bedroom was lovely and the hotel spotlessly clean but will be interesting to see what happens to the changes being made over the next year!!! I hope not too much is done to spoil the character of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the end of April beginning of May, and overall found it very pleasant.
There were one or two little niggles, firstly the car park is not by the hotel but up another lane,this caused problems unloading as outside the reception it is a very narrow space and if you stop you block the road. Saying that we were helped with our luggage so not too bad. The room was clean and bright no complaints there.
The food in the restaurant was very good also the breakfasts, I can only eat small amount and there was no trouble getting the portions cut down. The food in the bar was very ordinary.
My main gripe was the amount of dogs in the bar area, sometimes more than people, I sat on a window seat on which a dog had been earlier (dog on the funiture?) the dog must have had a lovely time on the beach as I got a wet sandy bottom, not good, there was also snarling and yapping and are you supposed to have animals where food is being served (hygiene).
Saying that the staff were lovely especially the mature lady in the restaurant, and the chambermaid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had Sunday lunch last weekend, excellant not just roast on the menu either. Great starter of mussels followed by excellant roast lamb and plenty of it.Plenty of home cooked vegetables. Will be back, but will book in advance

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Sunday lunch is such an important meal andy it sounds like you really enjoyed yours. It is worth booking as then you are sure to get a table. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My friend and I have just had a couple of days in Port Isaac. We stayed at the Port Gaverne. It was lovely. The hotel was exceptionally clean, our room was bright and airy, the food was AMAZING and the staff were very friendly. I cannot fault this hotel AT ALL!! we will definitely be returning there without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newflame59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us - spread the word, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
387 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
411 reviews
6.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Property: Port Gaverne Hotel
Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing