We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpretentious pub with decent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oystercatcher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oystercatcher
Oxford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unpretentious pub with decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Visited the Oystercatcher for an mid-week evening meal. The food was good pub grub standard – nice scampi and burgers etc. All the staff friendly and a nice mix of tourists and locals in the bar. Only problem was the very long wait for the food (45 minutes plus) but to be fair they did warn us when we ordered.

A nice pub with a nice view over Polzeath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Didius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I went to the Oystercatcher for dinner on Friday evening. We were with all our family, so there was 13 adults, 5 children and 1 baby. The staff were fantastic and the food came promptly after ordering. Most of us had Rattler (Cornish cider) as it is on tap and very good. The food was fantastic and everyone enjoyed their dinner. My husband had the nachos from the starter menu. He classes it a 7/10 for nachos. I had the mussels which came with a delicious ciabatta roll. The mussels were creamy and delcious. I would definately have them again. The staff were friendly and very efficient. Can't wait for our next visit hopefully in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

After reading such high ratings for the Oystercatcher, my boyfriend & I decided to pay a visit for a bite to eat, and we were not disappointed! The bar staff were very friendly and helpful, and the menu had an excellent variety to choose from. Our food was served very quickly, and was absolutely delicious! We shared a lovely starter of fried haloumi with homemade humous, pitta bread and beetroot, then for main I enjoyed a large bowl of vegetable soup served with a rustic roll, whilst by boyfriend devoured a huge plate of tribute battered fish and chips served with lemon, tartare sauce and mushy peas. I cannot express how devine the food here is, but we ate here again two nights later, and I would definately recommend if you are in area to give this little gem a try!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle0292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Arrived at the premises on 25th September and shown to our room which was very well proportioned, clean, tidy, well furnished and had the most fantastic view of the entire bay, which is approximately 5 minutes walk away. We joined up with the rest of the group who had travelled from all parts of the UK and France. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble and they catered to all of our various needs. The staff engaged in conversation as if we were locals and were indeed very helpful regarding local things to do. The food and catering service was well above the standard we expected with good value for money and plentyful, and each day had a varied specials board. We dined on four occasions each time fifteen people were in the party and meals were served to everyone at the same time. Credit to the chef and staff. The manager Marcos was a most accomodating person and even helped out in providing a special surprise for one of the group - St Austell Brewery you have a manager of credit and very high standard. The bar was a pleasure to relax in and to be thanked by the locals and the staff of the Oyster Catcher for ' the best monday night in many a year with our company and the surprise trio of musicians we had provided' was very sincere and we thank them for their company when enjoying a pint or two.
I would have no hessitation to recommend the Oyster Catcher as a very high standard well equipped self catering place to be and we will certainly return again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

3 generations of our family spent a most agreeable week in the clean, spacious and well maintained flats at the Oystercatcher. Spacious bedrooms and living areas all with well equipped kitchens.
Superb views over the clean (blue flag??) beach a mere 5 minute walk away where surfing is the order of the day.
Dog friendly accommodation and bar/restaurant a major plus for all us dog owners and lovers.
The staff were nothing but helpful and cheerful and nothing seemed too much trouble for any of them whether dealing with 15 of us in house or offering advise and arranging restaurant bookings on our behalf.
The food in the bar was excellent value for money and offered sufficient choice between the menu and the specials board to warrant us eating there 4 nights out of 7.
You could do worse than a couple of sun-downers sat on the spacious terrace whilst enjoying the stunning views and eventual sunsets before the night just slowly ''rattles'' away !!

Room Tip: The standards in all rooms occupied during our stay was excellent. Avoid rooms 3 & 4 if you spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at The OysterCatcher for 5 days between september 23rd and 3rd october. Considering the time of year we were very lucky with the weather, and the beach is only a 5 minute walk away. The views of the bay from both the bar decking and the apartments are beautiful. There was a large group of us staying and the friendly staff were only happy to cater to all of our varied needs. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff always engaged in conversation. The bar is always busy, but in a family and friends way, not a drunken seasonaires sort of way. The Oyster Catcher is also dog friendly. We stayed in apartment 4 and found it plently big enough and lovely and clean, although the shower was a little temperamental. The food at the Oyster Catcher was very good value for money with large portions and a specials board every day. Local cider is good too :) We held a small(ish) birthday party for my dad one night and Marcus and the staff working that night were only too happy to go that extra mile to help us pull off a suprise that he had no idea about. I really cant reccomend this place enough and will definatly be looking into going back.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the most spacious but has no view of the beach or bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle_J367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Clean neat, tidy and spacious accomodation, with decent furniture, but more impressively with breathtaking views. Food and service in the bar absolutely spot on, not only good value for money, but good full stop. Ate there 4 out of 7 nights, so the choice is also good.
Welcoming and friendly staff. Not much more you can ask for on a break, be it short or long. No hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teegee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
22.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valley Caravan Park
Valley Caravan Park
#1 of 3 in Polzeath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher

Property: Oystercatcher
Address: Polzeath Holiday Apartments, Wadebridge PL27 6TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oystercatcher bar stands near the top of the hill above the delightful village of Polzeath and has panoramic views of the beach and surrounding countryside, with sun terraces and garden surrounding the building. The Oystercatcher is popular with visitors and locals alike and offers a very friendly welcome to all. The Oystercatcher has a large car park and there is free WIFI throughout. We have eight 3 star self-catering apartments , 6 of which enjoy spectacular sea views. All apartments are well-equipped and sleep from 2-6 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oystercatcher Cornwall/Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing