We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, atmosphere and good food”
Review of Oystercatcher

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadebridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oystercatcher
Reviewed 15 August 2013

On a hillside overlooking Polzeath beach this pub has great views from the outside terrace and a couple of inside tables. It has a lively but friendly atmosphere. Food mainly consists of burgers and chicken but was all good quality food. Good mix of locals and tourists leads to an appealing venue.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NorthumberlandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

To start, the views were great, even on an overcast and stormy day.
The food was served quite slowly, but the wait was worth it, as the Bacon and Cheese melt burger was well cooked and easy to eat.
The staff were friendly and we found seats outside under an unbrella

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I checked on the Oyster Catcher website for food serving times - 12pm - 9pm on weekends. Our family of 5 arrived at 5.00pm on Sunday for dinner and were told that food wasn't bring served until 6pm. When I queried this with the girl serving behind the bar, I was greeted with a nonchalant "that's how it is" attitude. There was absolutely no apology and certainly not the "warm welcome" that I expected having read previous reviews. The place was clearly understaffed and struggling. We had some overpriced drinks and then left to eat at the Rock Inn! We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

6 of us ate here on a busy Saturday night. Unfortunately, on the way in, my husband (who had our teenage daughters with him) had to tell a young lad about his language. He did apologise, so the incident was put down to experience. The staff were all lovely, happy and friendly even though they were so busy. Our food came (not too long a wait) and to be honest, the 3 burgers were mediocre and so were the three orders of ribs. The salad was a handful of lettuce with a mustard style dressing on the top and apart from burgers/ribs and chips, that was all that was on the plate. Ok, so it didn't say that there was anything else, but after reading the reviews on here I think we were expecting a bit much. The presentation of the meals was very poor indeed - it did nothing to make you feel you wanted to eat it. Also, there were a few males in the bar who, in very loud voices, were using the F word on a regular basis. Just thought as there were families dining, the staff could have picked up on it and asked them to tone it down a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestJohn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Real pub not pretending to be a restaurant but with excellent pub food as well. Caters for all seasons, frequented by locals, welcoming of tourists. excellent asset to Polzeath dont miss this place if you are visisting this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

lovely food, great atmosphere, beautiful view and always a warm welcome from the ever present manager Flo. she is amazing and although never seems to leave the pub she always has a smile on her face. she is an asset to that pub and always really makes our trip.
although extremely busy, the food is still great so you dont mind waiting the 30mins that we were informed of when we arrived.
always a good crowd and locals. look forward to visiting again in august.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We thought we would try this place as it was close to where we were staying, and there is not many other restraunts around. there was 4 of us in party , my wife myself and my two children. We ordered at 7.20pm and at 8.30 there was still no sign of food although I had been to the bar twice to ask . Had money back ,so if you have loads of time on your hands and no hungry kids it could be your place , if you do stay well clear.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
22.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
12.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
924 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Havener's
Havener's
#10 of 25 in Fowey
19 reviews
18 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
315 reviews
8.4 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher

Address: Polzeath Holiday Apartments, Wadebridge PL27 6TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wadebridge
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oystercatcher bar stands near the top of the hill above the delightful village of Polzeath and has panoramic views of the beach and surrounding countryside, with sun terraces and garden surrounding the building. The Oystercatcher is popular with visitors and locals alike and offers a very friendly welcome to all. The Oystercatcher has a large car park and there is free WIFI throughout. We have eight 3 star self-catering apartments , 6 of which enjoy spectacular sea views. All apartments are well-equipped and sleep from 2-6 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oystercatcher Cornwall/Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing