We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much farm-action”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carruan Farm - CLOSED

Carruan Farm
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not much farm-action”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Good soft play area, so can see where the fun is in their "Where the fun meets farming" slogan, but not much sign of any farming. The odd sheep/goat etc, and some mangy looking bunnies, but that was about it. Cheap tho so fair value for the softplay, just not quite as billed...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Superdons66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    5
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice cream tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Went there one afternoon this week. Three of us. Nice coffee. We had two cream teas which were good. Homemade scone local cream and jam but why do people insist on microwaving scones!!! My pet hate. I live cream tea and would prefer a scone to have been placed into an oven or cold. Anything but microwaved. However my son had a warm chocolate brownie and ice cream which was lovely. Nice little farm shop with.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayneyp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Very friendly, lots of food but flavour disappointing!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank minisusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolute disgrace!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We arrived at lunch time, the farm was very quiet, not a lot there, we sat and waited for a lady to come take our order and we said just a couple more minutes.. we had to ask 15 mins later to come take our order then we waited 25 mins for our food..which was ok but pricey and didn't get much. We then paid for that and purchased our tickets for the play area...the first ride on tractor my 4 year old came to was broken, the seat had split in two. My father decided to make the manager aware of this, by showing it to him..and the manager totally blew his top and went on the defensive and blamed this on my son. The other trikes etc were all rusty and falling apart as well. The toilet door was unsafe, my daughter got trapped in it and my son trapped his finger in it. There was hardly any animals for the children to get up close to, the whole place looked run down compared to the leaflet.
We cant comment on the soft play area as the manager shouted at us in front of the other few customers and asked us to leave! How appalling!!
We shall not be going there again and they need a visit from the health and safety executive!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ilovecornwall186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was good,play area not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Having checked the website before we visited we were most disappointed with the children's play area. The photo's on the website are very decieving and make the play area look much bigger than it is. The softplay area is no bigger than a classroom size.When you are paying £3.50 per child you expect to spend more than 15 minutes playing. The website says that the area is suitable for children of all ages but anyone over the age of 5 would be bored very quickly as our children were. We did eat there and the food was lovely if a little pricey.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carruan Farm also viewed

 
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing