We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage which exceeded all our...”

Review of Merrydown Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Living room Living room window to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The cottage and garden
Living room
Living room window to garden
Wood-burning stove in living room
Dining room towards kitchen
Dining room and stairs
Kitchen
Kitchen window seat and Rayburn
Bedroom 1 with view to garden
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 with window to front
Garden view from Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 window to garden
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Patio with seating
The large garden
Garden with view to church
Village stores and Post Office
Village centre and the St Mabyn Inn
Dining room window to garden
St Mabena church
Padstow harbour
Constantine Bay
Port Isaac
Rock beach
Delford Bridge, Bodmin Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wadebridge, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sararuthm...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage which exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We escaped to this beautiful cottage as part of our honeymoon. It has been decorated to a very high standard and contains everything you could want for a cornish getaway. The log burner was perfect for romantic nights in and the garden is a great spot to enjoy a glass of wine in the early evening. We had a lovely stay - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place was so well equipped with everything from picnic basket to compass and OS maps. The art throughout the house is lovely.
Liked least: I genuinely can't think of anything to put here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
summerEss...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful Cottage & Dream Garden!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We arrived at Merrydown Cottage for our 2 week stay and was absolutely delighted. The photographs do not do this beautiful cottage justice.. Everything was more than expected, the furnishings were lovely, the beds so comfy and duvets, pillows and linen top quality. The weather could have been better (but this is england!!) so unfortunately were unable to sit out and enjoy the beautiful gardens as much as we would have liked but did enjoy sitting in the cosy lounge with the woodburner alight.. All in all a wonderful holiday and certainly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed matress, lovely bed linen and fluffy white towels
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendor1
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic In Every Way”
Reviewed 8 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week at Merrydown Cottage with our grown up family. We wanted for nothing at this fantastic property.The photos don't do it justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evannie
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truely beautiful cottage in a stunning semi rural location”
Reviewed 15 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed at Merrydown Cottage during the last week of June as a family of 6. From the outset it exceeded our expectations. The view from the back of the cottage over the church yard is so lovely and the garden was large and stunning, plus a real suntrap at all times of the day . The cottage itself was so full of character and charm we all agreed that we would love to live there !!!! It was a fabulous place to stay and the surrounding countryside was beautiful. We would highly recommend a stay here , plus make sure you visit the Kew Inn at St Kew, the Epitome of an English country pub and Daymer Beach was one of the nicest we've ever visited . Would we go back again ? definitely .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leila37
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning self-catering cottage”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We had a fabulous stay at this stunning property. If you want to do North Cornwall in self-catering style, this truly is the place to stay. A fabulous base for numerous sandy beaches with views that Greece would die for. Seriously recommended. We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$92
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing