We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service and no food after 90 mins??!!”
Review of Ship Inn

Ship Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ship Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 63 Restaurants in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The re-launch of a Wadebridge institution in August 2013. After a total refurbishment the Ship Inn is back serving great food, well kept beers and an eclectic wine list.Now winter is drawing in come in and enjoy a drink in front of our wood fires.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Appalling service and no food after 90 mins??!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were staying locally and decided to visit on the last night of our holiday in Wadebridge. Everything else about our time in Cornwall was fantastic and the plan was for a lovely meal to round off our holiday..........that was the plan anyway!

Arrived about 8pm and were advised by a rather abrupt and officious lady that there was a 30 minute wait for food and we could have a drink and peruse the menu while we waited. We had my 2 young children with us but 30 minutes didn't seem too bad. It was apparent quite quickly that the pub was understaffed and the barman under a lot of pressure serving waiting parties and the occupied tables.

We were advised to order quickly as a large party were arriving? and this may delay our food so decided to order and settle back with a drink or two. While we were sat there a couple ventured in and were immediately stopped by the 'rude lady' and told there were no seats and they'd have to wait in the bar! It was at this stage that we started to feel a bit unwelcome.

Anyway, the 30 minute wait became an hour and the first of our dishes arrived. Lukewarm Scampi and chips.......followed by nothing else for the remainder of our party. By this stage the kids were becoming a bit impatient. It transpired that this dish wasn't meant for our table so our food was still not on the way. 3 parties that arrived after us had by now been fed..........

90 minutes in and we decided enough was enough and asked to speak to the 'rude lady' who I assume was the boss/proprietor/landlady. She disappeared at this stage and our complaint was heard by the barman who I felt quite sorry for. To his credit he waived the bill for the drinks.

So we left hungry after an hour and a half. I'm sure this place serves some lovely food and is probably well run when it's quiet. My advice would be to avoid if busy and good luck getting past the 'rude lady'. The takeaway curry we had down the road was brilliant!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DarrenSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    101
    40
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty much perfect...”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Good food - kids menu even had mussels! Excellent service and I even complemented them on the background music. Will definitely visit again and recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rupert the landlord is a great landlord and has revamped this pub into a classy restaurant with good food and service

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you for a wonderful evening”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our party comprised people age group ranging from early 30's to 83 years old. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and great care was taken to ensure that the elder member of our party was well looked after (bit dodgy on the old pins). The food wine and ambience were all excellent. In fact it was a very enjoyable evening all round.

Not to mention I left my glasses, but didn't realise this prior to returning home to Manchester after our holiday. The hosts very kindly sent them back to me safe and sound by special delivery.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and value. Service friendly but a touch slow”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Staying close by we decided to book a Sunday evening meal with our 3 kids aged 8, 9 &18 mths.
We were quite early (kids starving) in the evening and it was empty when we arrived but pretty full by the time we left. The menu looked very good but the specials were too tempting and we opted for those. The kids deal was excellent @ £6.95 for a main course and ice cream. The kids mains were generous portions and they did a baby portion for our toddler ( and charged less too). The kids fish fingers looked home made and were full of lovely flaky white fish. It was certainly all polished off quickly. My son had mussels which I'd never seen on a kids menu before - he loved them and there was plenty of bread with it too.
I had sea bass with Cornish crab and fennel and potato salad - delicious, perfectly cooked fish, fantastic dish. My wife had sea bream, roasted in a coconut curry sauce with rice - I tried it and it was excellent as well.
Overall, we felt the food was superb, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, although it was a little on the slow side - not unacceptable so, but enough to have the kids asking when the food was coming! We will definitely go again

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyhatesjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Inn also viewed

 
Wadebridge, Cornwall
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 
Wadebridge, Cornwall
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing