We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional holiday cottage”

Review of Penweir Cottage

Penweir Cottage September 2013
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penweir Cottage September 2013
Garden overlooking the park Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Penweir Cottage September 2013
Garden overlooking the park
Living Room
Kitchen
Entrance to Penweir Cottage
Main bathroom
Bedroom 1
Sitting Room
View from the kitchen
North Coast
Camel Estuary
Towards Porthilly
Polzeath
North Cornwall at its best
Greenaway
Rock Beach Saturday 2nd August
Sunset over Pentire Point
Penweir Cottage in Spring
Our latest guests enjoying Winter in the cottage
The new wood burner - mmm cosy!
Village church at night time
The barn annexe
The barn living area
Christmas at the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Wadebridge, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ellen d
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional holiday cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The cottage and barn are beautifully appointed. Care has been taken in every room to make it feel like a home away from home. We visited to enjoy the Padstow Food Festival and found Christmas decorations and a tree up just for us!

During our stay we visited Tintagel, Rock, Padstow, Wadebridge and any number of wild and wonderful cliffs and beaches. All of these were within easy range. We took our dog with us and had a huge section of the Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty available to explore.

Of particular note is the Mabyn Inn, a 1 minute stroll away. We had two meals there and were very impressed with the excellent value of such fresh, tasty and high quality food. I attempted the seafood mixed grill and only just finished, it was huge!. There is also a quiz on Thursdays. We were made to feel very welcome.
Also in the village is a small tea room attached to a shop and post office to get your last minute supplies.

Though we didn't bring any children I noticed that the garden was enclosed and in good repair. It backs onto a large open park with climbing frames and a couple of pitches within line of sight of Penweir.

We have visited Cornwall several times and I am pleased to say that this is the best place we've stayed. The surrounding area has so much to offer an active holidaymaker, (or a foodie) I'll be looking to book a return visit for a different time of year to see what another season could offer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The awesome places to eat in the local area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikki f
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the beautiful Penweir Cottage in July 2014, everything about the cottage is perfect. We were very lucky to have great weather which is a bonus in this country. I went with my husband, 9 year old daughter and my Mother In Law, we also took our cockapoo Bentley. The cottage has everything you could need and more, the rooms were warm and welcoming, having an ensuite and full bathroom was a bonus. The village Post office was very handy and the church just beautiful. We were made so welcome at the local pub even joining in with the quiz night.. coming 2nd! The food there is out of this world, we ate in the restaurant twice just beautiful, well worth a visit. we were allowed to take Bentley in to the restaurant too which was wonderful, he slept under the table so tired from our days out. We visited the lovely Padstow, Eden Project, Port Isaac and went to Daymer Bay beach which is completely dog friendly with great walks round to Rock. All in all I would like to thank Naomi for a treasure of a holiday and have booked today for next July.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: evverything
Liked least: we loved everything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelafar...
Hastings
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just arrived home after a short break at Penweir with my husband, mother in law and Monty the dog. We all had such a great time, the cottage is beautiful and has everything you could ask for, so peaceful, St Mabyn is a lovely village and we visited the local church. Penweir is situated very conveniently for everything, in just 3 days we visited Port Isaac, Boscastle, Pencarrow (gorgeous house and gardens only a 5 minute drive away and dogs can be let off their leads), Lost Gardens of Heligan, Eden Project, Mevagissey and Charlestown, we didnt rush and luckily the weather was ok for us, would definately recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel, the attention to detail on what was provided in the cottage.
Liked least: The radiators were turned off in most rooms when we arrived so it was cold, it soon warmed up though once we turned them on.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2014
Lovely to know you enjoyed your second holiday to Penweir Cottage as much if not more and quite agree the new pub owners are a delight and it's great to have such a good food and drink pitstop within walking distance.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your review and so glad to hear you loved Penweir as much 2nd time round. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thanks, Naomi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lwalk2013
wokingham
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a friendly village”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Penweir cottage for 4 nights in November with some friends. It is a beautiful cottage set in a very peaceful village with a local village shop and a wonderful local pub (st mabyn inn). The cottage was warm and clean when we arrived with some essentials like bread, milk, tea and coffee waiting for you. It has a lovely open fire and you are left kindling and a basket of wood which came in very handy with these cold winter nights.
The village was well positioned with only 15 minute drive to rock where you can catch the ferry to padstow (only £3 return). The local pub is a must as everyone is so friendly and the food is delicious and very well priced, they also warmly welcomed our dog into the pub!
We would highly recommend Penweir and are hoping to visit again as soon as we can.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing