We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful weekend in winter”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We took my mother to the St Moritz last weekend and had a lovely apartment with a more beautiful kitchen than my own, wonderful view and fabulously comfy bed. That roomshould have been mother's but she couldn't get into the bath so she had the room opposite with a shower. If you come as a family unit, three rooms can be sectioned off from the rest of the hotel into their own little apartment. We thought the staff were delightful, loved the spa experience, and the food was superb. Downside: the restaurant was in a different building to the rooms, not a problem in summer, but you had to put your coat on to go to breakfast, Would I go again? You bet, any time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

We started our holiday at St Moritz and it was a great place to unwind. We had a king suite on a 3 nights for 2 deal and it was great value. The room was more like a small apartment with a big, and very well equipped, kitchen.

Highlights of our stay: the food, friendly chefs, location, large and stylish room, view from our room, local coastal walks, and easy access to Padstow for other places to eat.

Downsides?: Not sure how it would feel in busy periods and suspect we would have enjoyed it less when full as the hotel is pretty big once you take into account the apartments and adjacent self catering villas; our bathroom was very small and cramped even though the rest of the suite was lovely; there is no sea view from the bar or restaurant.

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea view, otherwise you'll be facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunbridgewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

> The hotel is part of a large complex including holiday homes and apartments
> Great value deal in low season
> Brilliant facilities with pool and spa
> A very girly feel to the whole place
> Very friendly and lots of effort from everyone
> Spotless throughout and lots of attention to visual appearance
> Food in both restaurants superb

Overall the hotel was extremely good, although there are still a few details that could be pointed at by highly fussy visitors. It is very well positioned for amazing walks along the shore, but where we were, there was no view at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corpulissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the st moritz for our birthday which fall a day apart. We took advantage of the £69 out of season bed and breakfast offer and it was outstanding value for money!
The was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was sp comfy! We chose the cosy room which was more than big enough for the two of us. A birthday cake and balloons awaited in our room.
We used the spa facilities and had a lovely evening meal that would take some beating.
We were not rushed out of our room in the morning and had breakfast at a leisurely time of 10.30am which was fabulous and filled us for the day!
This is not a cheap hotel to visit in peak summer months so if your looking for a great mid week getaway go and take advantage of the three nights for the price of two offer as you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

There was a constant humming noise coming from somewhere near our room. When we arrived one of the shower room downlighters was out, leaving the room dimly lit. When we mentioned this to staff we were asked if the other one worked. "oh that's ok then you can manage 'til tomorrow we'll fix it then". Not quite the response suggested by the marketing blurb, or by the price. We checked out mid morning the next day and it hadn't been fixed by then.The shower room floor was slippy. There is a smoking area opposite our room so we never quite escaped the smell of fags. The room was so small they had to furnish it with a miniature dressing table and chair. The staff were generally jaded and disinterested, so I dread to think how they were by the end of the season. And just to top off the feeling of a second rate hotel there are spelling and grammatical errors in the brochure. Lovely part of the country though.

Room Tip: Get well away from reception and don't take much luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank properjobmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to escape the city and go to the coast for the weekend. I chanced upon your website by accident and when I rang was told I had secured the last cosy room as part of your £69 deal, thankfully, as we had a wonderful time. Originally booked in for one night we extended to a second as we didn't want to leave the next morning. The room was wonderful with everything you could ask for - including cards, board games, hair straighteners... The owners and staff have clearly thought about the extra touches. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom smart and clean. As a couple who have spent several seasons working in the Alps, and I myself have visited St Moritz in Switzerland to ski, we discussed that it wouldn't be out of place in an up market ski resort (obviously where the inspiration comes from). Breakfast was divine and generous for the price. We couldn't have asked for more and will definitely be back. I only ask that you might consider extending your £69 offer as we're not sure it'll be before it ends in April, and can't afford the normal tariffs! THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Book for a trip before April 5th 2012 and get a 'cosy room' for £69 with B&B service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lansdown21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We went here with high expectations, and most were met. The hotel certainly has a high finish to everything and quality is obviously very important. The only downside really I felt was that it lacked atmosphere/feeling, and personally I'm not all that keen on having to go outside between my hotel room and the Reception/restaurant etc.

Having said that the hotel room was really lovely, decorated very nicely - subtle but modern without being too much of a 'blank canvas'! Bed was huge (however two singles put together as a king which, although topped with a thick mattress topper, still provided a 'ridge' down the centre of the bed). The bed was fantastic for lounging on during the evening, but in terms of sleeping well, we were probably in the minority - sorry!

En suite was brilliant - shower lovely, great fluffy (large) towels. Lovely touches in the room like ipod docking station (you have to switch it on!!!), board games, hair straighteners, free wifi etc. Couldn't fault the room apart from the sleeping bit which wasn't overly successful! Oh and the fact that the lovely rooms have fantastically chunky doors which is brilliant until your 'neighbours' decide to come back late / leave early (EVERY day/night!) and then the doors' chunkiness isn't quite so appealing as they're noisy! And the keys are noisy too - this probably didn't help in the sleep department either, but hey ho that's not really the hotel's fault, just inconsiderate people!

The restaurant food was excellent at breakfast, and efficiently served at dinner but would score 8/10 for dinner as I didn't feel it quite lived up to expectations or price charged. Restaurant and bar very nice though, and staff very friendly.

Cowshed spa excellent - staff wonderful and do a very good job. Reception staff friendly and helpful, thank you.

Pool facilities etc - we were lucky to have it quiet which no doubt made a difference but we used it all except the gym (which looked very good) and were very happy with the facilities.

All in all we had a lovely time here. Not the best hotel we have been to, and I feel a bit over-priced in a way, but very pleased to have stayed and would consider a return visit if we ventured that way. Would definitely look out for a special deal though!

And to those who say this hotel only accepts a certain type of person, I'd say if you expect quality be a quality person to match - treat your surroundings and the staff with respect and you'll get it back!!

Room Tip: Go for a King or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowflake51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
1.5 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,554 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,640 reviews
13.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range: £104 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Cornwall/Wadebridge
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing