We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Staff, Great Location - but rear facing room over priced and disappointing”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff, Great Location - but rear facing room over priced and disappointing”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was not responsible for the booking, so am sure all had been explained, however I was very disappointed with a rear facing room overlooking a small parking area and what may have been staff accommodation. As someone who loves light and fresh air, I felt unable to open the curtains as others from the block opposite could look in, and had no immediate outside space to relax in without a hike around to the front of the building. We had a persistent noise problem with the room on the first night which meant no sleep, but was promptly handled by the reception team and fixed by a very helpful maintenance man the following day. Our welcome and check in was excellent, and we were shown to our room by a receptionist who explained everything we should know. Unfortunately we did not have time to use the spa facilities, but did use the outside pool which was lovely and warm from their own solar powered heating system. Small details lacking in the room - mirror was on the inside of the wardrobe door, which didn't open fully, so you had to move a chair to get a full length view, the TV was rather small for the room size, and couldn't open any of the fixed toiletries bottles without removing the dispensers. Im sure if the room had given me the wow factor non of the other things would matter, so suggest you make sure you get a room with a view.!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    216
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
228
488
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We've just returned from this hotel and the accommodation we had was excellent. We stayed in a sea view suite, which was basically a very spacious apartment! Modern decor, a well equipped kitchen and a great balcony with lots of space to sunbathe on.
I would recommend this to anyone, although the 'hotel' side was a bit of a let down. The breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly. The evening meals were a bit of a let down. The fish is over cooked and the menu rather limited. With so many excellent eating places within a short drive away, I would recommend you eat out in the evening.
My biggest complaint is the housekeeping; very basic cleaning. I wrote in the dust before we left!

Room Tip: Splash out on a sea view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The St Moritz is a modern hotel with old fashioned standards. The standards that have been eroded with time in motion studies and cost cutting. Like being shown to your room from reception. Not as a means of getting a tip, but in order to show you everything and make you feel welcome. Like letting you sit down and taking your drinks order, in fact MAKING you sit down and then taking your order. All of the team had smiles, and seemed to enjoy working, how often does that happen on a hotel reception desk these days? I only get this sort of welcome in the hotels I stay in weekly, and didn't expect this having never stayed before .. Perhaps I should, as the team here have set the benchmark.
The rooms are well equipped, although my colleague clearly had a much better room, with sky and a large tv etc, however it was enough for me, although when I'm back in a couple of months I'll expect the same type of room as he had!
The facilities are good, the spa looked great, defiantly having a treatment next time.
Overall I was very impressed, and for a jaded business traveller that's no mean feat. Well to the St Mortiz team

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked the Seaside Restaurant for this celebration. The staff decorated the room for us, provided a fantastic buffet for 50 people and provided rum punch and wine for our guests. The staff couldn't have been more attentive. We had a brilliant evening and certainly think that The St. Moritz is the best venue in North Cornwall. Thank you so much.
Paul Harrison
Bodmin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Had yet again a lovely meal with friends on Saturday night. They let us shower and freshen up after a day out in Padstow and had a great evening eating and drinking with friends.
Have stayed in the past and loved it and always pay a visit for lunch or dinner when I'm in the area!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gmjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked this hotel at short notice whilst travelling down to visit Port Issac and Padstow. We didn't want to stay at either location and found the location of the St Moritz perfect for our visit being away from the busy tourist harbours of Pt Issac and Padstow. The hotel is well equipped for both families and couples with the staff being polite and helpful. The pool can be a little busy at key times but not so to cause a problem. Our room was spacious and the bed exceptionally comfortable. We ate at the hotel restaurant and despite being a little pricey if paying for a family, the food was first class and well worth the money. We will most certainly visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We did a two night stay in a suite with dinner one night as a pre-baby trip. The hotel itself is lovely and had the weather been better we'd have loved to have spent more time around the outside pool. We both had treatments in the spa and whilst they're not cheap, they are great quality. The restaurant dinner was very good, but with the rock and padstow restaurants on your doorstep, one night is enough. Breakfast wasn't great, but to be fair we did get there just before 11. If I was coming down to the area again, I'd definitely be happy to stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
12.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
4.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Property: St. Moritz Hotel
Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Cornwall/Wadebridge
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing