We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
204 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a curates egg of a hotel - good in parts but otherwise unacceptable.

Firstly the good

- It has a nice position on the cliffs about 2 miles from Rock and a lovely 15 minute walk on the coastal path to Polzeath;

- The restaurant is excellent and the breakfast (the cooked part especially) is first class

- The Hotel has a indoor and outdoor pool, outdoor table tennis table and is well geared up for families with younger children

- It has free wifi which is a good speed.

Unfortunately there were negatives:-

- We had a King room that was small and very stuffy (the one window only opens a very little bit), overlooked the main building and had no bath (a shower only). For over £250 a night this was very expensive

- Whilst the service was generally good, disappointed that the restaurant said it was full until very late and yet when we came back we were virtually the only people in it

- The previous occupant had left a note in the mini bar that said there was no water and the fact that the note was still there (as was their hotel check in card in the room) shows a lack of attention to detail in the cleaning

- Most importantly the place is soulless. Yes there are lots of kids but this is essentially a modern development of low rise flats with a central services core.

- The outdoor pool did not open until about 11.30 which if you want a swim in the early morning heat is annoying

By the way, this is not a beach front hotel. The very small beach is down a couple of very steep paths which might be a challenge to the elderly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbgandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    216
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
228
488
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Three generations of our family stayed for five night treat. OK, so the sea-facing suites we had were top of the range with full modern kitchen facilities, cool lounge, dining area and tastefully designed modern bedroom and bathroom. All topped off with a huge balcony with table, chairs and sunloungers.

The kids had a twin room at the back overlooking the car park but, hey, we were out so much it hardly mattered and they were in our suite two metres away across the landing anyway.

If you eat on the premises don't rush into the restaurant as you may prefer the bar food - especially if you have kids. Fish and chips and mushroom/truffle tagliatelle recommended there whilst the restaurant highlight was lobster risotto and twenty pounds a plate.Bear in mind you have to go outside to get to the restauarnt/bar/spa/gym/indoor pool block.

Breakfast choice is good but unusual not to have fresh fruits available - other than fruit salad. Favourites there were porridge and honey as well as the lighter "spa breakfast". Kippers, smoked salmon also available.

Stock up on drinks and snacks at the Spar shop in Polzeath and enjoy them on your balcony.

In summer months this is a family hotel so expect the usual sounds and disruptions. Don't come if you don't like kids then.

The outdoor pool is only open from 12-6 but serves decent food at its cafe.

All the staff were polite and helpful. They were particularly considerate when granny had an unplanned hospital visit overnight. Use the free landrover shuttle service to Rock and Polzeath. Pass word free wifi works well throughout.

Room Tip: Try 107a suite: gives a central block view over the garden, pool and ocean beyond from the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Disappointing stay. Came here for a romantic weekend away and unfortunately this place just doesn't deliver. Here's why:

- Booked a Cosy room (sounds romantic) for £175 per night. What we got was a tiny bed- 4ft 6in, curtains that let the light in in the morning (so no lie in), a shower built for 2, but only gives a trickle of water due to the tiny shower head.

- The hotel very inconsiderately put us in a block of rooms right in the middle of a large family, who were in every room around us with lots of their children running in and out of each other's rooms. Obviously the families were excited, but there really was no consideration of other guests and the level of noise. Lovely for them- very noisy for us!
In the morning, there was lots of early morning noise; with doors being slammed and loud voices in the corridors and stairwell. (Definitely no chance of a lie in!)

I did speak to reception about the noise etc when we checked in to our room, but they told me they were fully booked, so couldn't move us and that the duty manager would be informed. Nothing was actually done to apologise for this though- no goodwill gesture, which would have gone a long way.

- Check in was 4pm!! Why so late? Very inconvenient.

- Indoor pool was freezing, which meant it wasn't enjoyable to use.

Positives:

- The decor in the room and hotel areas were nice.

- Great for kids and families!

- Breakfast was tasty.

- Hotel staff were polite and friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PBecks100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 years ago and remember it to have been quite pleasant with comfy beds.

Upon my return I felt it had sharpened up noticeably.

Staff were obliging, smaller details were noticed (I won't ruin the little surprises).

Restaurant was good though a bit of a pity they didn't follow through with something special after asking about specific dietary requirements-not the end of the world.

Treatment was good. Spa area looks a bit tired.

Seaside restaurant was good but seemed a tad overpriced.

Really great for families but I'd only come out of season if I had no children!

Would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank patchaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful , I felt the restaurant let it down as it served the same menu for the three days we were there despite the website and the hotel book in the room stating that the menu was changed daily.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinnie152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked a special early summer package which included two nights B&B, a bottle of champers and a three course meal in the restaurant for the bargain price of £300.

Having stayed at the hotel before, I think my expectations where better managed this time - on my first visit I was slightly disappointed that the hotel lacked any real heart to it and felt more like halls of residence. However putting this point aside, the staff were really attentive and polite.

We ate in the restaurant and honestly had the best desert ever (some chocolate desert that was full of surprises). The main courses are a little fancy for my liking, so don't be afraid to order from the bar menu instead (you have to ask but they are more than happy to oblige). Although the restaurant is open planned, it is still disappointing that its not in a better location that takes advantage of the grounds or sea views. Furthermore, it would be helpful if no pushchairs were allowed in the dining room. Its rather small and unfortunately some parents are rather rude and bash them into you/ place them in the way of the poor waiting staff.

The beds are to die for and have a mattress topper that you will just melt away in its so soft and comforting.

My only niggle is that the room did not have AC in it and they only provide you with one mini sized fan. I asked for another to try and get the air circulating but was told by house keeping that it was only 1 per room and that there were none spare. Also, knowing how hot the rooms can get I asked that prior to arrival our window in the room be left open - when we checked in it was firmly secure. A minor point but when you have asked and the hotel prides itself on customer service its a bit annoying.

If you are taking bikes down there, there are not specific secure storage facilities for cycles. Arriving at 2300 having driven for hours it was slightly annoying to find out we had been misinformed by the guest relations team. However, the female member of staff on duty that night went out of her way to help and arranged for them to be stored in Viv's shed!

Tip - if you want treatments then be sure to book them well in advance. We had a treatment and it was absolutely heavenly.

Final note - those who haven't stayed for a couple of years will recall that the walk to the beach/ coastal path was somewhat difficult. There is now a stone path, off of the private road, which links to the coastal path/ beach. As such, you can now take a buggy down there etc.

Room Tip: Even if you book a suite these won't necessarily have a sea view. For that, you need to book an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RC12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for five days in a suite with sea view. Hard to find any criticism at all but it's the staff who elevate it from very good to a great hotel. Everyone we met were exceptionally good, particularly with our six month-old daughter.

The St Moritz is family friendly but still has a classy, grown-up feel - it certainly wasn't overrun with kids as some reports have said, although we did stay outside of school holidays.

Food was excellent. The inclusive breakfasts were of a very good standard and dinner at the restaurant was great, albeit with a slightly limited choice. The Cowshed spa was very welcome although you need to book well in advance as it's open to the public and gets very booked up.

The first floor suite we stayed in was clean, roomy and well decorated, although ours (109a) was towards the end of the main block so shared its sea view with one of the car park which wasn't ideal. Unfortunately no alternative was available when we flagged this.

It had a great kitchen with every single utensil and appliance you'd ever need, while the bedroom was a good size with a large, very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little small, but ok. Free, reasonably reliable WiFi made up for the lack of any phone signal too. And an allocated parking spot was a nice touch.

The location is of course superb. A few strides from the coastal path and stunning walks to Polzeath and beyond in one direction and Rock and Padstow in the other. Just stunning scenery and beaches.

Finally, the cost. Well, it's not at all cheap but neither do you feel you're being fleeced. You don't always get what you pay for, but at the St Moritz you do.

Negatives? Only a few very minor things (apart from the aforementioned view). The £15 meze plate we had via room service on the first evening we arrived was tiny. The televisions are small and as old as the hills - you can't connect any devices to them. And the free DVD library was very out of date. That's it!

We'll go back for sure. In fact we've already booked.

Room Tip: Avoid suites 110a and 109a if you can, unless you like car parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRichens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
12.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
4.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Property: St. Moritz Hotel
Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Cornwall/Wadebridge
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing