We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special, quiet and relaxing.”
Review of St. Moritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Moritz Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very special, quiet and relaxing.”
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I found the hotel on Google maps and then the website sold it. It is set at the highest point in Trebetherick affording stunning views of entrance to Padstow bay and the surrounding countryside. We were upgraded to the stunning Penthouse Suite which made our stay that bit more magical.
The design and furnishings of the rooms our both comfortably modern but warm and cosy at the same time with lots of wood and travatine. Large double glazed windows allow you to take in all that is around you without needing to stand in the wind and cold!
The hotel has a more than adequate spa, the pool allows you a swim and has massive sauna and steam room. The bar and restaurant again are airy, modern but comfortable and inviting with lots of leather and wood as well as light.
I would highly recommend St Moritz to everyone and we shall be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hattiehooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    216
    97
    25
    15
See reviews for
228
488
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

As a family we stayed at the St Moritz Hotel over the half term break. From the moment we arrived we were impressed not only by the hotel itself but also by the fantastic staff. The hotel is stylish, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed in a suite, overlooking the sea so we had a lovely view to wake up to every morning as well.

Every member of staff was really helpful, friendly and extremely willing. The lady at breakfast every morning gave us great travel and site seeing tips. The Cowshed beauty salon at the hotel was also lovely. I booked a treatment in advance and was extremely impressed by how helpful and friendly the staff were, not always the case at in-hotel services. The treatment was a birthday treat for my husband and he said it was lovely.

The restaurant was closed during our stay, so I can't review the food. However it meant the hotel was doing a fantastic deal of 2 nights for the price of 1. Not surprisingly the hotel was quite full. The spa and leisure facilities are to be recommended too, particularly the steam room!

Our whole stay was a five star experience from start to finish and we will definitely be back. For keen surfers and beach lovers the location is perfect as we were in walking distance of both Polzeath and Daymer Bay and Rock is only a stones throw away. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Well, what can one say, just arrived back from the best short break I have ever taken at the St Moritz Hotel.

Rooms

We booked a suite after seeing the "2 for 1" offer (available til the end of March on their web-site, and we are so pleased we did, the room was amazing.One on-suite bedroom (with a bed to die for), well equipped on-suite with Cowshed (their Spa) products and a very powerfull shower!! Flat screen TV, hair dryer, hair straghteners and a patio door onto the most wonderfull balcony ith views out to the atlantic ocean. The living room was also very big with a dining table (seated 8), a sofa with 2 or 3 chairs and a very well equpped kitchen, flat screen tv, DVD player and board games.

The kitchen had, washer dryer, fridge freezer (with a jug of milk on arrival), dualit toaster and kettle, hob, oven and all the utensils you could need, again a patio door opening onto the balcony.

The hotel has a sports complex with tennis courts, swimming pool (indoor, an out door one shouls be available by July), jaccuzzi, steam rooms, sauna etc and was very clean and well maintained.

The Cowshed spa looked stunning, we couldn't get a treatment as full, so suggest booking if that is what you want.

Location

It's own beach can be reached by a 10 minute walk, we walked from there to Daymer bay and onward to Rock, a very nice walk.

The resteraunt was being refurbed when we went so can't comment on that, but the continental breakfast served was excellent again.

Can you tell I was overjoyed by the stay, well done to all at St Moritz and their excellent staff, I will be returning (just booked in July!!!!)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs_family_ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Wonderful long weekend, unwinding from London life - definitley worth investing in a suite for the weekend. Staff and service excellent (managed to secure a table at Steins for us at short notice), rooms and facilities faultless - modern, chic and unfussy. Food local and delicious. Cow Shed Spa an excellent bonus. Hotel not directly overlooking the sea, but only a five minute walk from the coast path. Have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This hotel opened in November 2007, and it still feels spanking new. A beautiful white art deco building, with its palms and against a blue Cornish sky it felt as if we were on the continent. Also on the site are self-catering villas and apartments.
The staff were enthusiastic, friendly and welcoming, and our room was stunning - well, two rooms; a livingroom with sofa, armchairs, dining table and lovely stylish and extremely well-equipped kitchen (loads of gadgets & teatowel, dishwasher tablets etc provided), bedroom with 2nd flatscreen TV , chaise longue and beautiful big bed with comfy pillows, nice bathroom with thick monogrammed robes. A lot of thought has gone into the rooms, and we were impressed with the attention to detail, lamps, playing cards etc. Best of all was the picture window & balcony with fabulous views across the gardens to the sea. At night the only sound was the wind. Below the hotel, a few minutes' walk downhill, is a little sandy/rocky cove, and about fifteen minutes stroll along the coastal path is Portreath. Later on when the weather was foul we went in the pool & jacuzzi, which was lovely. It all feels very efficient & clean.
They've apparently had some problems with the restaurant, and it was closed when we were there which is a shame, but they delivered an excellent breakfast to the room, which in fact was better than having to get dressed & go out! Fresh fruit salad, nice muesli, fresh orange juice, croissants, and provided fresh milk, coffee, tea & bread for toast that you made yourself. (If you like lots of coffee take some with you - there's a percolator!)
Regarding eating out, I got the impression from the website that the hotel is quite remote; it isn't! There is a pub that does nice food within walking distance, and plenty of other places within a few minutes' drive. And as for the hotel's address, it's not in Wadebridge!
We took advantage of their special offer, 2 nights for the price of one, and had a lovely, relaxed weekend in a fabulous sea-view suite for the same price that we paid two years ago for a room in a pub. What a find!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

We were going to book a sea view room but it is advertised on the i-escape website that subject to availability, i-escape bookings would receive a free room upgrade. So we decided to take the risk because it is a large hotel and as it was the week before Christmas, we guessed it was unlikely to be full.

When we arrived we were shown our room which was what we had booked, a standard double room over looking the car park but when we asked if there was a possibility of an upgrade, the surly receptionist said that there were none available. We commented how good it was that the hotel was fully booked at this time of the year (three days before Christmas). To which the reply was slightly strained, "well some rooms aren't available and the only rooms available are rooms like yours" (small boxy travelodge esque rooms). So we thought, fair enough.

Then as we went out for dinner, we noticed that the car park had only 3 other cars in it and the hotel itself was completely dark! So we decided to conduct a little mystery shopper exercise on the hotel. We rang the reception at 7:50pm and asked them if they had a room with a sea view available tonight. They said yes they did and it would cost £165 but reception closed at 8pm.

Disgraceful. We're not cheap skates - far from it! But given the unfriendly reception and the pretty rubbish room, it riled us. We simply think offers should be honoured.

Aside from the above, for the price range, we felt the hotel was completely devoid of any personality, or character. It's like a pretentious butlins holiday park or an expensive travel lodge. It is certainly not boutique. Its a sprawling well fitted resort with bland uninspiring interior design, no personalised service and no attention to detail. The reception closes at 8pm. Most of the TV channels didn't work. The spa is not really a spa. It's not at all relaxing, there are no beds, magazines or relaxing places to sit. It's just plain tacky. There are lots of kids who do not have enough entertainment so they start improvising in the spa area.

On a plus note, the bed linen, the duravit bathroom fittings and doors to the room are great. The Cowshed Spa is the only boutique like offering but it has to be said, it devalues the Cowshed brand having it at this hotel.

  • Liked — the nearby beach and I would recommend the Malster Arms for food
  • Disliked — poor service and attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doogle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harefield, Middlesex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Having known the Rock area of Cornwall for 15 years, we were delighted to find the new St Moritz Hotel and be able to spend a most enjoyable long weekend there even though it was well into winter. What a change in the quality of accommodation available in this otherwise excellent area of Cornwall!

We stayed in a lovely first floor centre apartment with private balcony and stunning views of the sea and the adjoining headlands from the spacious living room.

The apartment was spacious, very well planned and the design, detailing and quality of finish throughout were superb.
The bedrooms were adequate in size and the beds and bedding were out of this world - so comfortable and a joy to collapse into after wonderful walks along the cliff tops and beaches. The en suite bathrooms were beautifully detailed and so user-friendly.

The living, dining and cooking area was spacious, superbly furnished and appointed and so comfortable to relax in with everything that one could wish for easily to hand. The stylish furniture had been so carefully considered and selected. Everything in the apartment was spotless and beautifully maintained.

The pool, jacuzzi and sauna in an adjacent building were just the thing after bracing walks in a howling gale and would be so at any other time too.

What was most impressive was the warmth and friendliness of the staff who were so friendly and welcoming and so willing to assist in any way. This is a great asset in a new establishment trying so hard to set a standard and succeeding supremely well. Well done!

We were only sorry that we could not stay longer.

  • Liked — Comfort and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotters91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadebridge
12.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
8.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
4.8 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Hotel

Property: St. Moritz Hotel
Address: St. Moritz Villas | Trebetherick, Wadebridge PL27 6SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Wadebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wadebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Moritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Moritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Cornwall/Wadebridge
St Moritz Wadebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing