We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel nice people”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice place if I had a complaint it would be that the bed in room 9 was smaller than I am used to and rather saggy but overall the hotel and employees were nice. Breakfast was good and we had a decent no frills lunch in the bar which looks new and was busy with locals as well as tourists

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed two nights in room 4 August 29th & 30th and thought it was great all round.The staff are friendly and welcoming and the room was spotless and comfy. There was no problem with noise in room 4 but even if there had been it would be kind of expected seeing as it is a pub and you know this when you book.Besides it was a great atmosphere in the evenings made all the better by the fact you just have to go upstairs to bed without worrying about getting taxis. The location is so central to everything you need in Padstow a few seconds walk and you are in the beautiful harbour which is lovely to take an early morning walk when it's quiet. The bathroom although small was perfectly fine and the shower lovely and plenty of hot water.We only ate breakfast which we found on both days lovely with plenty of coffee to top up with. Another bonus is the fact you can park although the car park can be a bit tight to negotiate it is good to actually be able to park without having to pay as a lot of accommodation in central Padstow does not have parking and the pay and displays are rammed when busy.Overall we will definitely stay again and think for the price we paid was very good considering the location and cannot fault the room or the staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaNicoll29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner and I had booked the Old Ship Hotel as far back as April so couldn't wait for our annual pilgrimage to Cornwall from the North of Scotland at the end of August. We had initially booked 4 nights in room 9 then decided to add a 5th night but could only get room 7. Not a problem and the Old Ship didn't disappoint. All the staff were very obliging, in particular Rob who helped us to the room with our luggage. Room 9 is rather quaint on the top floor, compact but cosy. It can be a little noisy until the bar closes, but don't forget, this is a pub/hotel. Not a problem for us, as when you're in Padstow, who would want to go to bed before midnight anyway ! Not us. The breakfasts were of a high quality and service very good. It was a hive of activity each morning with the staff busying themselves cleaning the bar area and washing down outside ready for another days business. I must mention the collection of Dinky Toys in the glass cabinet in the breakfast area. Simply superb and worth a look. For our final night we had to transfer to room 7 which is rather nice. Much larger with a bath and quieter at the rear of the hotel. The Old Ship has a great atmosphere, the food is of a high quality and the beer is superb. We were so sad to leave and the Old Ship has left us with a lot of lovely, valuable memories of a fantastic visit to our beloved Padstow. We thank each and every member of staff for making us so welcome. PS. the steak n'chips I had in the Old Ship was better than the one served at the Cornish Arms. Say no more.

Room Tip: Room 9, top floor, quaint and cosy if a little noisy until closing time. Room7, rear of the hotel, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I visited The Ship on our honeymoon in May 2011 for just drinks and to listen to the live music. We had such a great night we had to return the following year and this year for our anniversary.
We find the food is always so delicious, the service fantastic and the atmosphere amazing. Thank you to all at The Ship for never disappointing!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank louby_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a two night stay August 2013 and overall had a very enjoyable time until it came time to go to bed and we then discovered that the noise from the terrace area directly beneath our window was absolutely unbearable, even shutting the windows didn't drown out the noise.
The hotel has a good central location and is a good base for sightseeing, although the car park is very difficult to find and has numerous steep steps down to the hotel.
We would stay at this hotel again, mainly because of the excellent breakfast, but would request a room at the back of the hotel away from the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Great little place for a quick stop off. Room very clean. Bed good and fit for purpose. Bathroom polished. All the necessaries in the room. At the back of the hotel is best noise wise. Friendly host. Breakfast somewhat greasy however and lacking in choice but this is a room on a budget so you can live with the breakfast. Perhaps a little tight time wise so having a good lie in is probably not an option. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueroom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stopped off in Padstow with the family for something to eat at the Old Ship. My wife and I ordered the cheese and meat platter at £14 each and my daughter had a kids fish n chips at £6. When my daughters came I have never seen such a small portion. The fish was more like 1 battered joujon with a handful of chips !!!. The platters were okay but again very stingy. Service was good as was the beers inside. After all it is a tourists spot but come on be a little more generous !!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1,016,356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
398 reviews
1.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
972 reviews
1 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: £26 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing