We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
New Forest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great weekend”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed in Room 14 which was lovely. Service and food was first class and you have to remember you are staying in a pub with rooms and the location is key. Would I stay there again or recommend a friend then without a doubt yes.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ade72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    116
    51
    36
    24
See reviews for
81
185
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

You can tell when people enjoy working where they do, and this is certainly true of the Old Ship Inn at Padstow. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in room 9, at the top of the stairs overlooking the courtyard bar, the Camel estuary and the harbour. The Inn is very centrally located close to the harbour by a level walk and all its activities. The car park is a bonus, and although situated above the hotel and consequently a few steps to lug the luggage up and down, is a great bonus for any accommodation in Padstow. We were there Tuesday to Friday nights, and although Friday was noisier than the other 3 nights it was cut out with the double gazing on the windows. The bathroom was very modern and adequate with a good hot & strong shower. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers, as well as a large wall mounted TV and a working fridge! No complaints about the breakfast. Some days after we left, we discovered we had left behind an important package in our room: we contacted the Old Ship Inn and they posted it free of charge to our next major stop on our holiday - after stay service is certainly a feature of this great Inn. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for looking after us.

Room Tip: Room 9 was good for us, with the window double glazing cutting out the noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Survey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I think my wife best described this hotel, the room was something you'd expect in a young offenders lockup. £100 for a shabby hole (very clean tho'), if you'd paid £40 then fine.
Not all rooms look like those on the website.
Breakfast took over 40mins to be cooked, the oven broke down! Tough bacon, petrol station sausages, very poor.
And if you sit at the wrong table for breakfast, you might get savaged by A Daily Mail reader..
Very nice staff & bar.
Having just paid the same for a night in Salcombe last week this felt decidedly third world.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCH_WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We came here for dinner as we are staying in Padstow and wanted somewhere to eat and this pub had been recommended by the owner of the cottage we are staying in. Her choice was a very good one. The food was fresh, plentiful and very good value for money. Lovely staff and atmosphere and will come again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thones, France
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having picked up our aunt at Bodmin station on the Monday before May Day, we made our way to Padstow, and tried to find somewhere for lunch at 3 o clock. Lots of places had finished serving food by then, so we made our way to the old ship because I had looked at their menu on the internet, and found it interesting. Fortunately they serve lunch until 5! The staff were extremely helpful and chatty and the service was great. I can't praise the crab enough. It was so fresh and so plentiful. Everything everyone ordered was also fantastic, like the chips, the salads and the chicken burger. Probably the best and the best value meal we had in Padstow, and that includes Rick Steins.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie-Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying at Rick Steins and had eaten there the previous evening. We were wandering around Padstow thinking where shall we eat when a down pour and fate saw us take shelter in this pub so we decided to eat here. What a pleasant surprise the food was fantastic. The salmon rivalled anything we had the previous evening at a smallproportion of the cost. If their accommodation is anything like their meals the rooms must be excellent. A very pleasant evening indeed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Pub/hotel/restaurant in the centre of Padstow, with its own parking, so VERY convenient and the prices reflect this.
Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and adequate, but not large and can be a bit noisy: can easily hear TVs in adjacent rooms and sometimes noise from the bar (was not a problem for us).
WIFI did not reach our room, and the wifi and internet access is generally poor - based on comments we heard from other guests and the struggles we had, even in the bar. It is probably not helped by the password/security system, certainly Apple devices could not remember the password - tedious!

The bars and restaurant area has been very recently refurbished and is very nice, though a little characterless. There were a lot less locals in the bar than in previous years, maybe the bar prices were a partial cause, OK but slightly more than some of the other town centre pubs.

Restaurant is good pub standard. Breakfast usual standard for room price (not brilliant, but no complaints at all).

We'll likely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#14 of 55 in Padstow
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing