We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We as a family of 3 along with my parents have visited The Old Ship Hotel on mnay occasions over many years.
The have always been very welcoming of families both in menu options and general manner.
Our 3 year old loves their spag bol.
Staff have always been attentive and polite and regularly check to ensure our meal is ok, which it always has been.
Beer tastes excellent as does the guinness.
Popular pub and on nice days the outside seating area fills up quick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    117
    51
    36
    24
See reviews for
81
186
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chorley Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very Central Location in the heart of Padstow. Free parking but up alot of steps. Staff were friendly and helpful and more than happy to help with bags. Room 7 was modern, spacious with a very large bathroom. Room was clean with a fridge, located over the kitchens but we didn't find it noisy and had the windows open all night. Breakfast was good with a nice choice and they provided food for our toddler no problem. Could not get Wifi at all and phone signal hit and miss. The harbour, shops and restaurants were just on the doorstep. We didn't eat there in the evening but it was popular and food looked good. Would recommend but would not recommend if you struggle with steps eg need wheelchair access etc but otherwise great.

Room Tip: Room 7 was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Gutted we never ate here, sadly left it until out last night in Padstoe to visit the bar/restaurant having already eaten. What a mistake, we should have ate here, the plates I saw being served all night looked Devine. The seafood platter looked amazing
Staff very friendly too! Clean and lovely welcoming atmosphere
Will return with an empty belly hopefully some day!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KathrynSmyth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queniborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights this week. All staff very good throughout our time there. Room was good size and well fitted TV and wifi were good. BreakFast was first class and offered a large choice. We did eat there in the evening so cannot comment on that. We would certainly stay at the Old Ship again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for our long weekend stay in Padstow. Booked directly and got choice of rooms and booked one on the top floor but it wasn't cheap. Location is great being right in middle of Padstow and easily walkable everywhere. Free car parking is a bonus but the car park is quite hard to find and there are lots of stairs to get down to the hotel.
We were on bed and breakfast and breakfast was good.
Room was on the small side and since we were on the top floor, the wifi wasn't working in our room.
Overall, ok place to stay for a short trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just got back from a great short break from Padstow. This hotel was recommend to us by a friend who has taken their dog on holiday. Padstow is a paradise for people who want to take their dog on holiday.
The hotel is nice and clean, good food, wonderful and helpful service. The only down side was the Wi-Fi don't work but it didn't bother us as there were so many things to do and see.
I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Front Room number 1 can be noisy at night but a bit more drinking can mask this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidF888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise weekend treat for my birthday. I love Padstow and I was delighted with his choice of hotel. We stayed in room 11 which was spotless, very roomy with lots of storage space, a fridge, safe and a decent hairdryer. All of the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast consisted of a huge plate full of perfectly cooked good quality ingredients with several choices if you didn't want the full English. The bar contained a good drink selection at reasonable prices and there was ample seating putside the front of the pub. We will definately choose this hotel again on our next visit to Padstow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,455 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
948 reviews
1.0 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing