We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation in the heart of Padstow.”
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had a wonderful 7 nights at the Old Ship Hotel. Room 7 large double at rear of hotel, very comfy bed and spacious bathroom with bath and shower. Fridge in room which proved very useful in the hot weather. Teenage daughter had neighbouring single room 12 with ensuite and also had a fridge. Both rooms enclosed by outer door which gave us more privacy and extra security. Lots of storage in both rooms but not enough hangers. Staff very accommodating and attentive, even helped bring bags from car from the very steep car park (thanks Wray). Food excellent but would have liked a bit more choice on the kid's menu. Service at breakfast was variable as we had to ask for things more than once on a few occasions. Car park is a bit challenging but worth the hassle for being in the centre of Padstow. Free wifi was variable to non existent at times. Would definitely stay there again, and might even bring the dog as they are so dog friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Waited for 40 minutes for our food which wasnt too much of a problem as the pub was very busy. The portions were small. The fish pie cold. The pork steak tough. The kids meals arrived with salad even though we had specified that it be left off. The sea bass was lovely but a portion more like a starter!! Needed pasties an hour later! Won't be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned home after a lovely week at the Old Ship Hotel. Our room was comfortable and large and included a fridge! The food was wonderful, tasty and divine! The staff were friendly and hard working nothing was too much for them. Children and adults alike were treated well. We would definately recommend it! Thank you

Room Tip: Room 14 was large with a double bed and fridge. The ensuite was large with a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We as a family of 3 along with my parents have visited The Old Ship Hotel on mnay occasions over many years.
The have always been very welcoming of families both in menu options and general manner.
Our 3 year old loves their spag bol.
Staff have always been attentive and polite and regularly check to ensure our meal is ok, which it always has been.
Beer tastes excellent as does the guinness.
Popular pub and on nice days the outside seating area fills up quick.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very Central Location in the heart of Padstow. Free parking but up alot of steps. Staff were friendly and helpful and more than happy to help with bags. Room 7 was modern, spacious with a very large bathroom. Room was clean with a fridge, located over the kitchens but we didn't find it noisy and had the windows open all night. Breakfast was good with a nice choice and they provided food for our toddler no problem. Could not get Wifi at all and phone signal hit and miss. The harbour, shops and restaurants were just on the doorstep. We didn't eat there in the evening but it was popular and food looked good. Would recommend but would not recommend if you struggle with steps eg need wheelchair access etc but otherwise great.

Room Tip: Room 7 was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Foodies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Gutted we never ate here, sadly left it until out last night in Padstoe to visit the bar/restaurant having already eaten. What a mistake, we should have ate here, the plates I saw being served all night looked Devine. The seafood platter looked amazing
Staff very friendly too! Clean and lovely welcoming atmosphere
Will return with an empty belly hopefully some day!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KathrynSmyth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights this week. All staff very good throughout our time there. Room was good size and well fitted TV and wifi were good. BreakFast was first class and offered a large choice. We did eat there in the evening so cannot comment on that. We would certainly stay at the Old Ship again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,536 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
980 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range: £25 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing