We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, lovely owner and a great location”
Review of Strand House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strand House
Ranked #22 of 55 Padstow B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, lovely owner and a great location”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst attending a course at Rick Stein's seafood school.
Our room was very clean, had all the amenities you expect - tea, coffee, biscuits etc (the dish of sweets was a bonus I hadn't expected). The shower room made great use of a small space so didn't feel cramped and the soaps and shampoos were lovely. Best of all there was a small outdoor area accessible from our room which overlooked the harbour.
Breakfasts were marvellous and it nearly broke my husband's heart to order only a sausage sandwich on the day we were off to class (where we were expected to eat everything we cooked!).
The weather was pretty awful but The Strand House was a jolly place to be in spite of it, with other guests all chatting together at breakfast time. We'd definitely stay here again and would recommend The Strand House to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
167
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Beautiful location with glorious views of the harbour and surrounding scenery , nestling in the heart of padstow with easy access to padstow's facilities.Everything you need in a room tv,radio,iron , hairdryer & tea making facilities and the complimentary bottle of wine on arrival was great after a 7hr drive.Sarah is a lovely host and very helpful.I would recommed this b&b to everyone.Nigel & sally

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this perfect B&B in Padstow. We have been visiting Padstow for the last 30 years and usually rent a cottage but as it was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and we could only manage a 4 day break we decided to give B&B a go.
Sarah let us have the largest room which included the use of the lounge and kitchen and as no one else was booked in at the time we had our Breakfast at The Basement Bistro over the road.
The house is very well equipped and included Sky TV and Broadband.
We were also able to access the room on our arrival at 11am in the morning-very useful when you only have a few days break!
We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mancsontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

What a lovely gem of a place.
Fantastic location with those extra special little touches, wine in rooms, fresh milk in fridge, bowl of sweets and complimentary toiletries!
The best bed I have ever slept on!. (trelawny room)
The views from the rooms were amazing, overlooking the harbour and we were less than 2 minutes to the nearest pub!
Sarah is a lovely lady and certainly knows what her guests need.
Definitely be back next year, for longer this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank von68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We arrived in Padstow with no accommodation booked, by chance I rang Strand House and now cant wait to return! There is absolutely nothing that you can fault about the B&B. Most comfortable bed on our entire "roadtrip". We were absolutely delighted. Even though we did not get to meet Sarah and only had dealings on the phone, she made us feel very welcome.
Strand house is situated in the heart of Padstow with beautiful views over the harbour, only minutes walk to various restaurants, pubs and shops. Lovely breakfast that was conveniently served a little bit later (10am) at the restaurant opposite. Perfect in every way! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nique10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This was our second stay at Strand House. There was no point looking eleswhere as the standard of accommodation and the location are superb. We rented all 3 units for the family and it was like a home from home. It was also ideal for our elderly mother as all the delights of Padstow were only yards away.
As before it was scrupulously clean with every extra provided that one could wish for. There was a lovely comfy leather suite and a perfect table by the window where one could sit , read the paper and watch the world go by. We were unable to come up with any negatives for this property.
A warning however when parking on the quay. We received a ticket (£100 reduced to £60 for early payment) for straying over the line by a few inches into a hatched area infront of the ticket machine. This put a real downer on what would have been a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed at the Strand in Sept of this year for two nights, Sarah couldn't have made us feel more welcome, fabulous time, good value for money, the room we stayed was very clean and comfortable,lovelt views of the harbour breakfast was excellent. It was our 1st time to Padstow very friendly plenty of great places to eat................going back in Nov with my dogs cannot wait!!!!! Would recommend The Strand to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padstow hotels
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coswarth House
Coswarth House
#15 of 55 in Padstow
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#14 of 55 in Padstow
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 55 in Padstow
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Symply Padstow
Symply Padstow
#13 of 55 in Padstow
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cally Croft
Cally Croft
#10 of 55 in Padstow
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand House

Property: Strand House
Address: Padstow PL28 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strand House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand House Padstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing