We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage, fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Flosey79
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, fantastic location”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Crigg cottage is a wonderful, warm and cosy cottage perfectly located on the North Cornwall coast. The cottage is spotlessly clean and has all mod-cons and with the added advantage of a log burner it makes for a lovely stay. This is the 2nd year that we have been to stay with George and Jeff and will definatly be back again next year. The nearby beaches are just wonderful and the southwest coast path is a short walk up the road. The nearby town of Padstow has some fantastic resturants and bars.
The location is ideal for exploring the whole of Cornwall and being dog friendly with a secure garden it is ideal for families and people with dogs.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia P
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage and beautiful part of the cornish coast”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A really lovely cottage. Great for us as a couple, three teenagers and a Labrador. We all had a great time, visited nearly all of the beaches within ten miles north and south which are spectacular. St Merryn, a couple of miles away has all you need for food and drink. Farmers Arms very welcoming and good food, Cornish Arms owned by the Rick Stein group, great food and very busy so get in early. We would visit again. Had everything for a relaxing week away.

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrebbleJo...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and location but a few things a bit disappointing”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at crigg cottage for a week over Easter. The location is fantastic and the cottage and garden are lovely. However there were a couple of things that disappointed us slightly. Mainly when we arrived and read the laminated sheet the owners left we were surprised that we were expected to clean the cottage on departure or else would be charged a service fee. We always leave accommodation tidy when we leave anywhere but we found having a list of things we had to clean on threat of not getting our deposit back a bit much as I consider the price we paid should have more than covered the cleaning. This put a bit of a Dampner on things and made it a bit of a rush vacating and cleaning the cottage on the Friday! When booking we were under the impression the deposit was for damages not cleaning! Subsequently the deposit took a long time to be returned which I understand is dealt with by holiday lettings but they took the money a lot quicker than was returned! Another little thing was the dining table wasn't very accessible especially for our parents and was very uncomfortable! Also the note the owners leave make it clear they don't want any marks on the table so may I suggest they supply guests with a table cloth to protect it! The internet really doesn't work which wasn't a major issue for us but I'm not sure it should be advertised as having internet. I would still recommend crigg cottage to a friend as its beautiful and in a lovely area I would just be warning them about the cleaning!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
I am sorry that you found the security deposit inconvenient. I have never kept anyone's deposit to date, and I simply ask that visitors leave the house as clean and tidy as they found it when they leave, in order to keep standards high. This is clearly stated in my advert. Likewise Holiday Lettings clearly state in their T&Cs that security deposits are processed 10 days after you vacate the property. They achieved this in your case, so it seems rather unfair to suggest otherwise.

As for the Internet, we are sadly in a no zone- the worst 11% in the UK through no fault of our own. I have only just included this at Crigg cottage with no increase in rental prices and after a year long fight with BT. I wish I had not bothered!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarmyBrum...
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Easter Break at Crigg”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stunning cottage in the country but a stones throw from the local beach. Very cosy & cute. Huge garden, secure as well - perfect for children & dogs. The Tredea down the road is great for a drink but food not so great. The Jolly Roger pub over the road is fab, great value, great food. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Georgina or Geoff but they were very helpful in the booking process. Thanks to them for such a lovely holiday!!

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nic0lahar...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Roomy Cottage with everything you could need.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Crigg cottage.
The Brewers and their extended family made us and our dog feel very welcome and went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. The welcome pack of local goodies and sone dog biscuits was a really nice touch.
The cottage is beautiful, and well presented, with everything you could need. The beds are super comfy!
The location was fantastic, an 8 minute walk to Porthcothan beach. 2 miles away from St. Merryn. 5 miles away from Padstow, (there are 7 beaches in the 5 miles between Crigg cottage and Padstow). and the cottage is right on the south west coastal path walk.
Thank You for our lovely holiday, we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We think this area is spectacular and we love Crigg, so it's great to hear you feel the same. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenburg, Germany
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, the beach, playground for the little ones, comfy house
Liked least: Leaky windows in the living room
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.